Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Grounded outlet required for switch between extension cable and string lights?

Grounded outlet required for switch between extension cable and string lights?

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-13-13, 06:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Grounded outlet required for switch between extension cable and string lights?

Apologies if this has already been answered - I found helpful information in previous questions but am not knowledgeable enough about electricity to tell whether we are safe or not. All advice gratefully received.

I have a set of string lights in the baby's room. The light cable is two-prong and comes with an extension cable, also two-prong.

I want to add a switch between the light cable and the extension cable so I can switch on the lights without kneeling down to reach the outlet. I bought a GE polarized handy switch (two prong), thinking this would work. But on the packet is says I need to plug the switch into a grounded outlet.

Can I safely use the switch (between the light cable and extension cable) as intended, or must it be plugged into the wall?

Thanks so much

Kellie
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-13-13, 06:35 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,494
Is this some kind of inline control switch ?

Like what's in the picture ?
 
Attached Images  

Last edited by PJmax; 01-13-13 at 06:40 PM. Reason: further clarification
  #3  
Old 01-13-13, 07:01 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Yeah - that's it. The one I've got is almost identical. Thanks for responding!
 
  #4  
Old 01-13-13, 07:07 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,494
It's an all plastic device that does not require a ground.
 
  #5  
Old 01-13-13, 07:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Great - thanks so much. I guess the manufacturer's advice to plug into a grounded outlet is not strictly necessary?
 
  #6  
Old 01-13-13, 07:54 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Great - thanks so much. I guess the manufacturer's advice to plug into a grounded outlet is not strictly necessary?
I wouldn't worry about it.
 
  #7  
Old 01-13-13, 09:30 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,659
Well if it doesn't have a ground pin then you really wouldn't be plugging it into a ground even if there was one. What should have been written was to plug it into a polarized receptacle. Just another example of instructions written by the technically challenged.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'