1953 house and new light switch

Old 01-14-13, 05:25 PM
R
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
1953 house and new light switch

Our old light switch broke so I am replacing it with a new one. However the wiring is kind of odd and I am an extreme novice. As this is my kids bathroom, I have really young kids and want to make sure this is safe!

If I need to hire an electrician just tell me I am not too proud

Also below are pictures so maybe that will help although the lighting is bad so I will explain.

I took a pic of each side of the switch and the third is the back of the box, I am assuming that green wire was supposed to be screwed into the box as a ground?

Name:  2013-01-14 19.05.28.jpg
Views: 1017
Size:  41.5 KB
Name:  2013-01-14 19.05.01.jpg
Views: 932
Size:  45.0 KB
Name:  2013-01-14 19.04.15.jpg
Views: 1048
Size:  47.2 KB

In the other two pictures I simply replaced the wires in the exact same position they were in on the previous switch (although who knows if that was correct). The red wire went on the top right, the black on the bottom right and the white-ish grayish what have you wire on the bottom left which was a black screw on the switch.

The screws on the new switch were nothing like the screws on the old one so I do not know if any of this is correct. The diagram on the new switch makes absolutely no sense to me.

I cut the power on and the lights work but again I want to make sure this is safe.

Hope someone can help me!

Last edited by ranman001; 01-14-13 at 05:26 PM. Reason: more information
Sponsored Links
Old 01-14-13, 05:47 PM
Group Moderator
Received 127 Votes on 112 Posts
Welcome to the forums!

I think you may have bought the wrong switch so I will start there:

Is this the only location where the lights are controlled? Is this for a ceiling fan or is there two sets of lights?

Even though it may be the wrong switch we can likely make it work. I will wait for a reply before continuing.

Old 01-14-13, 05:55 PM
R