GFI Issue

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-16-13, 12:52 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 53
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
GFI Issue

I have some of the GFI's in my house connected to a breaker in my box. My problem is I have 3 receptacles(2 in 1 bathroom & 1 in another that do not seem to be working). All other receptacles on that GFI breaker are all working.

I have tested & all 3 receptacles are live for power; however, nothing you plug into those 3 receptacles work as if no power is going to them.

Thoughts & thanks!!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-16-13, 12:58 PM
S
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,508
Received 85 Votes on 75 Posts
How have you tested for power at these receptacles?
 
  #3  
Old 01-16-13, 01:22 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 53
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes...they are showing as live.
 
  #4  
Old 01-16-13, 01:37 PM
S
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,508
Received 85 Votes on 75 Posts
No, I didn't ask whether you tested, as you already said that, what I asked was how you tested them.
 
  #5  
Old 01-16-13, 01:43 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 53
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry...used an AC/DC probe with light on end that showed power.
 
  #6  
Old 01-16-13, 02:11 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,119
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Some confusion here....
You say "some of the GFI's in my house connected to a breaker in my box" then you say "other receptacles on that GFI breaker".

Are they GFCI receptacles or regular receptacles connected to a GFCI breaker?

More than one GFCI on a circuit tends to not work.

Just clarifying.....
 
  #7  
Old 01-16-13, 02:12 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Sorry...used an AC/DC probe with light on end that showed power.
Not sure what you mean but if you mean a non contact tester then the results don't mean anything.
 
  #8  
Old 01-16-13, 02:13 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 53
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry again...electrical language not my strong suit...regular receptacles on a GFCI breaker.
 
  #9  
Old 01-16-13, 02:28 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 53
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It was the probe with 1 Red probe & 1 Black probe...the probe lit up when I poked them into the receptacle
 
  #10  
Old 01-17-13, 08:27 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 53
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can I assume that I need to call an electrician for this?

Thanks
 
  #11  
Old 01-17-13, 08:38 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,119
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
What you should do is buy an analog voltmeter or multimeter. The kind with the needle. $10-15 at most places that sell them.

The light up testers aren't always accurate.

It's very odd that you have a GFCI breaker unless this is a newer home. Most times they just used a GFCI receptacle as the first in line which protected all the others.

Are you sure all these receptacles are on the same circuit? Where are the working ones located? By room I mean.

It could be that the first non-functional one has a loose wire, or the last functional one does. Relatively simple to check and figure out how they run.

If you don't feel comfortable removing them from the wall and checking, then yes, you'll need to call a Pro.
 
  #12  
Old 01-17-13, 08:39 AM
S
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,508
Received 85 Votes on 75 Posts
Do you have access to a multi-meter? I don't think the test you did to show power was valid, we need to know more specific information.

Edit: Looks like Vic types faster than I do
 
  #13  
Old 01-17-13, 09:54 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 53
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Great...thanks guys...I will check later on this evening & let you know.
 
  #14  
Old 01-17-13, 02:02 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 53
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The other receptacles are located in the bathroom downstairs(works) & in the kitchen(both are working)
 
  #15  
Old 01-17-13, 08:15 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
The other receptacles are located in the bathroom downstairs(works) & in the kitchen(both are working)
The two GFCI receptacles in your kitchen should be on the two dedicated 20A small appliance branch circuits required for countertop appliances. They should each be fed by a separate circuit protected by 20A breaker in your panel. It is likely that the GFCI receptacle in your downstairs bathroom is also on a different circuit from the ones upstairs.

You should use either an analog multimeter or a GFCI receptacle tester to test these receptacles.
 
  #16  
Old 01-21-13, 09:43 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 53
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks to everyone...problem solved..there was power to all the receptacles involved. I just followed Gunguy45's advice & followed the circuit.

I cut the power to the circuit & at the first non-functioning receptacle was a loose connection. Repaired it, turned the circuit back on & bingo all the receptacles after that were ok.

Don't know what I'd do without these forums.

You guys are a huge help.

Thanks again.
 
  #17  
Old 01-21-13, 09:48 AM
S
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,508
Received 85 Votes on 75 Posts
Glad you got it working and thanks for the update, we don't hear how things work often enough around here.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: