Cooktop/double oven wiring and armor question

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-20-13, 02:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 305
Cooktop/double oven wiring and armor question

Hello all,

Long ago with the help of some folks on this forum I ran a new 6-3 wire from my main panel to my kitchen for a cooktop. It has been many difficult months since then and I've finally installed the cabinets. I am ready to wire the appliances and I have a question. The 6-3 NM wire in my sink base will be exposed for a few inches inside of the cabinet until it goes inside of a junction box. Does this section need to be armored?

The cooktop and double oven wiring are armored already. Thanks all.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-20-13, 02:08 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
I do not believe it is required, but a piece of conduit over the cable never hurt.
 
  #3  
Old 01-20-13, 03:23 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,059
Code states the wire must be protected if in an area subject to damage. Because of where it's located and the fact that the junction box will likely protect it from any errant cereal boxes or whatever that might be shoved in, you should be good to go.

In my opinion, you're fine... but the only person who can answer with certainty is your AHJ (local electrical inspector).
 
  #4  
Old 01-20-13, 03:31 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,361
I would not consider it subject to damage, but like Mike said, the inspector has the final say.
 
  #5  
Old 01-20-13, 04:32 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 305
Hi I finished installing it. I have attached a picture. Please let me know if it looks good to you.

Also, how would you recommend I fill that hole above the armored cable hole? I can try shoving wood filler in it but I was wondering if you guys had better methods. Thanks.
 
  #6  
Old 01-20-13, 06:49 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 305
Also want to mention that our township follows the 2008 NEC code.
 
  #7  
Old 01-20-13, 07:05 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
I'd use duct seal or silicone.
 
  #8  
Old 01-20-13, 08:20 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,669
I might glue a 1x1 on each side of the cable and a strip of 1/8" Masonite on top of the 1x1s.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'