Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

vapor barrier for retrofit device box (ie. new plug on finished external wall)

Old 01-23-13, 08:41 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts

I am an electrician and often required to add a receptacle in a finished basement. It is my understanding that if a house is wrapped with house wrap during construction (eg. Tyrap) it acts as a vapor barrier. Consequently, if you install a plug on an outside wall on or above the first floor of the house you would not need to add a vapor barrier as long as you do not cut into the wall with the house wrap.

What about in the basement? Would you not need a vapor barrier? I would say yes unless it is insulated with foam. If you do need a vapor barrier, how can you effectively include a vapor barrier with the electrical device box in a finished basement so it forms an effective vapor barrier? This situation would also apply to older homes (eg over 15 - 20 years) in the entire house that do not have a house wrap.

Thanks,

AF, New Brunswick

Sponsored Links
Old 01-23-13, 04:25 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
House wrap is technically a weather resistive barrier, not a vapor barrier per se. It does not stop the flow of moisture in both directions like you would expect in a vapor barrier (6 mil plastic for instance).