no power after plugged in hairdryer

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-27-13, 02:09 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
no power after plugged in hairdryer

My wife plugged in hair dryer this morning and then lights in bathroom went out and also no power at receptacle or at switch. Metered receptacle and switch 0 volts. Metered breakers all at 120v not sure where to go from here? there are no gfi receptacles in the house
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-27-13, 02:11 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 24,171
Received 338 Votes on 310 Posts
Reset the GFCI on the outlet, or on the one that is in series with that outlet?
 
  #3  
Old 01-27-13, 02:17 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
there are no gfci outlets in the house
 
  #4  
Old 01-27-13, 02:21 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 24,171
Received 338 Votes on 310 Posts
Sorry, didn't see that! I'd probably remove the outlet and/or switch and see if you have power to the outlet/switch. I've seen a few instances where a back stabbed outlet just happened to have a wire come out of it's socket.

That happened to me the other day and at first I thought the switch on my sawzall was finally going bad, but it was the outlet itself.
 
  #5  
Old 01-27-13, 02:29 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
i removed the receptacle and switch. no loose wires. metered the wires in the box and no voltage, then though I had a bad breaker so I metered the breakers and all have 120volts but no volts at the switch or receptacle wiring
 
  #6  
Old 01-27-13, 02:38 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 24,171
Received 338 Votes on 310 Posts
I would next remove outlets that are in the same circuit and check them for power. Since you have power at the breaker it sounds like you've lost continuity somewhere along the line.

If you know which breaker runs the bathroom that might help you identify which outlets are on the same circuit.
 
  #7  
Old 01-27-13, 02:47 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
i'll do that now thank you
 
  #8  
Old 01-27-13, 06:45 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,027
Received 44 Votes on 39 Posts
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: