240V Circuit Breaker Not Working

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-30-13, 08:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4
240V Circuit Breaker Not Working

I very glad I found this forum and look forward to using it on a regular basis. I currently have an issue that I am unable to figure out.

I have a 240V circuit that services my Oven. I've gone to the breaker box to confirm that I have 240 coming off the breaker. Here is what I'm reading with my mulitmeter:

L1 to ground - 120V
L2 to ground - 120V
L1 to L2 - 1.88 V

It's my understanding that L1 to L2 should meter out at roughly 240.

The reason I'm investigating the issue is because my oven stopped working. It was turned on and went thru preheat and after 10 minutes or so it tripped the breaker. When I threw the breaker back on the oven would not heat nor the stove top work.

The oven is unplugged from the 240V outlet during testing at breaker box.

Any guidance on why I would not be getting 240V across L1 and L2?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-30-13, 08:23 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,494
The breaker did not reset. Try it again. Push all the way to off then back on.
Still no 240 volts ? If no.......breaker may be bad.

Do you have 240 volts inside panel. Check another two pole breaker.
 
  #3  
Old 01-30-13, 08:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4
PJmax thank you for quick response!

I just went and checked. I am getting same reading on all three of the 2 pole breakers in the box.

What is causing there to be no 240 inside the panel?
 
  #4  
Old 01-30-13, 08:44 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,494
Now you need to check at main breaker.
Look for the wiring coming in from meter. Check at that wiring.
(I'm assuming this is your main panel)

If you have 240 v on the wiring to the main breaker.....then the main breaker tripped and must be reset.
 
  #5  
Old 01-30-13, 08:55 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Ok thank you. Yes, this is my main panel. I'm going to do that in the morning. The main breaker is a large "pull out" style plug with two very large fuses in it. I'm assuming that if I don't have 240 coming in from the meter I've got to contact my power company and get them involved. I'm also assuming that if I have 240 coming in that one of those large fuses is blown and that is causing my situation. I will update this post tomorrow with findings. Again, thank you for the information.
 
  #6  
Old 01-30-13, 09:05 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,494
That is 100% correct
 
  #7  
Old 01-30-13, 10:00 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Your first assumption is correct. If you find 120V hot to ground on each leg of a 240V circuit, you should find 240V across the two legs.

What did you find on the other 240V circuits in the panel?
 
  #8  
Old 01-31-13, 07:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Problem solved.

All three 240 breakers in the panel were measuring 120 when checking to ground. When I went across both legs I was getting 1.88 volts not 240 volts.

The problem was a bad main breaker. I replaced the main and now have 240 back in the panel.

PJmax - Thank you very much for your assistance. I increased my understanding of my breaker box immensley troubleshooting and rectifying this issue.
 
  #9  
Old 01-31-13, 07:07 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,494
You are very welcome and thanks for coming back and giving us an update
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'