14 gauge wire off of 12 gauge wire

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-06-13, 06:38 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 2
14 gauge wire off of 12 gauge wire

Is it okay to transfer from 12 gauge wire to 14 gauge wire in a junction box if the 12 gauge wire is run off of 15 amp circuit? My understanding is that the 14 gauge wire can handle the full load a 15 amp breaker can put on it so switching from 12 to 14 should have no impact.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-06-13, 06:42 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,288
Yes. As long as the overcurrent device (fuse or circuit breaker) is sized to the smallest wire, in your case #14 wire/15 amp) it is fine to use a larger sized wire in the circuit.
 
  #3  
Old 02-06-13, 07:40 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,595
While you can do this it may lead to issues later if someone sees the 12 not knowing the smaller wire is in the circuit and installs a 20 amp breaker.
 
  #4  
Old 02-06-13, 08:40 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Thank you for the quick replies.
 
  #5  
Old 02-07-13, 12:51 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
If you plan on doing this, label the conductor indicating there is #14 on the circuit.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes