Troubleshooting 240v

Old 02-08-13, 02:51 PM
Troubleshooting 240v

Hello,

I've been working out the garage for a few months off and on getting ready for a project I am getting ready to do. From previous experience I decided I wanted a air compressor for my needs yay! Previous resident of the house was a ASE Certified mechanic, and such he had a monster compressor in the garage the wiring is all there. Now the fun part.

Bought a multimeter to test the outlet before I drop $1000+ on a compressor and I am glad I did. After testing the DMM on 3 outlets know to work in the house without any issues went to the garage. Tested it and I am only getting 120-123 off the outlet, moving the probes around I get the error 0.0l not sure what it means I bought a somewhat cheap DMM for my needs.

First image is of the sub panel in the garage

Second image is of outlets nearest the panel the ivory ones do not work.

Third image of of the outlet believe to be the 240, the wires from the 30amp double pull lead to this socket.

#1 - http://i.imgur.com/MbJ2cex.jpg

#2 - http://i.imgur.com/ujofAwU.jpg

#3 - http://i.imgur.com/GrpzlEs.jpg

Now before I go any further I wanted to make sure I was testing the outlet correctly On my DMM I set the dial to the V with the ~ underneath it. Double checked 3 sources and I appear to be doing this correctly.

Now the thing that baffles me is, when I tried to shut off power to the suspected 240v outlet, the 30amp double pull do noting for it (although the wires lead directly to it). Instead the 20amp directly to the left shut off power to the outlet.

I am confused and unsure where to start searching for my issue, should also note there is a decent size exhaust fan directly behind this outlet in the garage itself. ( this is a detached garage)

I am not rush to get this solved because if I cannot safely fix this I have to pay a guy electrician to come out and solve the issue for me.

One other note the outlet is aprox. 3 ft away from breaker box.