120v generator: transfer switch need help

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-11-13, 06:42 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Usa
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
120v generator: transfer switch need help

hello. newbie here and need some help. I have a briggs & stratton 30320 4k running/5k starting generator that has 4 20 amp duplex outlets, no 240v. I wanted to install a transfer switch in the house that would power a few 120v circuits i.e. furnace, fridge, lights. I want to install a inlet box on outside the house for convenience. The only problem i am finding is that the kit i want is a reliance 3006hdk transfer switch wich includes 30 amp transfer switch and 6 circuits. I would like this kit so that when i do buy a larger generator with a 240v it would power 4 120v and 1 240v circuits. But for now, I was thinking I could only connect 1 leg of the transfer switch to my 120v generator and power the 3 120v circuits in the house. Couple of questions:
1.Can i just power 1 leg of the transfer switch without causing damage to my generator or fuse panel/appliances?
2. How would i wire the 30 amp l14-30 inlet to my 5-20 120v generator?
3. Is it possible to just run 1 hot and 1 neutral to the l14-30 from the 5-20 120v on generator so it sends 120v to the transfer switch?

Thanks for your assistance. I have looked online for answers for weeks without getting a definite answer.
Marco
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-11-13, 07:15 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,937
Received 35 Votes on 30 Posts
You cant do it with that gen. Just run cords as you normally are. With that gen each duplex is running off a winding. If you run on one side winding only then the gen becomes unbalanced.......

What is your 240v circuit you want to run?
 
  #3  
Old 02-11-13, 07:18 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Usa
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the reply. For now i dont want to run any 240v circuits, but thought when i buy a larger generator i could run my ac.
 
  #4  
Old 02-11-13, 07:23 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Usa
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is there any transfer switch i can run with this generator? I hate running extension cords in the house.
 
  #5  
Old 02-11-13, 07:24 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,937
Received 35 Votes on 30 Posts
I would forget about the a/c. You will need a large gen for that.

Heat, re-fridge, lights, water...etc are more important. Smaller gen uses less fuel. Being in NJ I could tell you how hard it was to find gas for 9 days during sandy....... I only went through some 15 gallons.

Spend your money wisely.....
 
  #6  
Old 02-11-13, 07:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Usa
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
For now i only want to run furnace , fridge, and 1 lights. How can i do this with my 30320 briggs generator and not use extension cords? There has to be a way.
 
  #7  
Old 02-11-13, 07:47 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,937
Received 35 Votes on 30 Posts
Plug the light refridge on one side duplex with ext cords.

Get a transfer switch for your funace and plug iy into the other duplex.


TF201W Easy/Tran | Product Details | Reliance Controls Corporation



If you really want to not run ext cords then you will need two of these. Plug a cord from each duplex into each transfer switch. Each transfer switch will power on side of your panel with 4 circuits per side. But are all only 15 amp. They will need to be wired properly.

Remember cant run 240 loads


15114A Pro/Tran | Product Details | Reliance Controls Corporation


But why spend that money????? By a new 120/240 gen and a 120/240 transfer switch.

Note your gen will produce only 2000 watts per side of the panel. And I do not know of the codes involved so wait for the electricians.

You know I am a plumber right??????
 
  #8  
Old 02-11-13, 08:02 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Usa
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So, the problem with this generator is that it has 4 duplex outlets and the load has to be balanced across them. I just got an email from generator direct and they said i could use the reliance 30114a with my 30320 generator. Is that correct?
 
  #9  
Old 02-11-13, 08:18 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Usa
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I was told i can use something called an adapt y to create 240v and that will enable me to balance the load. ADAPT-Y Generator Cord Adaptor
Sorry for all the questions, but keep getting different answers. Can you clarify if this adapt y would work? Thanks again
 
  #10  
Old 02-11-13, 08:19 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,937
Received 35 Votes on 30 Posts
yes the 30114a. But you will only be drawing from one winding on the gen and limited to 2000 watts. Plus the gen will be un balanced if drawing from one side. It will rock and roll if you draw max power and probably break.....
 
  #11  
Old 02-11-13, 08:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Usa
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So what about that adapt y ? ADAPT-Y Generator Cord Adaptor would that balance the loads across the Two sets of duplex?
 
  #12  
Old 02-11-13, 08:45 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 17,937
Received 35 Votes on 30 Posts
No that adapter will only work if the neutral and ground are bonded. And if they are bonded then you will have the whole issue of bonding/transfer switch issues.


And infact that cord is a suicide cord IMO. If one end became un plugged could it be live and dangerous???
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: