Wiring a GFCI

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-11-13, 07:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 6
Wiring a GFCI

So I'm trying to figure out how to wire this gfci. It has 3 blacks, 3 whites, and 3 grounds all coming into the outlet box. One line is power in, one other line is to the light fixture then the light switch, the other wire is from the fan. How can I wire this up to only trip the outlet?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-11-13, 07:52 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,483
Are there two switches there......one for fan and one for light ?

Is this a 3 gang box ?
So will it be two switches and the GFI in that 3 gang box.
 
  #3  
Old 02-11-13, 08:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 6
Thanks I actually just figured it out though, I connected all the blacks and pig tailed it to the gfci, then did the same with the whites. Works good now and doesn't trip the whole bathroom.
 
  #4  
Old 02-11-13, 08:35 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,483
Great news......good job.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'