Service Size for Single 1,500 Watt BB Elec Heater?

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-13-13, 03:32 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 984
Service Size for Single 1,500 Watt BB Elec Heater?

I am adding leanto to the side of my garage and plan to put a single 1500 watt/240 volt BB elec heater in it to keep things from freezing. My math says that would only draw about 6 amps, so a 15 amp/240 circuit would be adequate. Can someone confirm. It's been 50 yrs since I got out of school. Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-13-13, 04:39 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,636
1500 240 = 6.25 so yes 14-2 UF-b on a 15a breaker will be okay. The code question would be if the lean-to is part of the garage. If it is and the garage already has power you can't run a second circuit.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 02-13-13 at 04:58 PM.
  #3  
Old 02-13-13, 04:43 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,439
How about we just call it an additional circuit rather then another service.
 
  #4  
Old 02-13-13, 05:00 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,636
Post corrected to circuit.

And do you think it counts as a separate detached structure?
 
  #5  
Old 02-13-13, 05:57 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,212
And do you think it counts as a separate detached structure?
For what it's worth, my opinion is that if it is attached to the garage with no passageways (doors) between the lean-to and the garage, it is part of the garage unless it is separated by a firewall. A single structure separated by firewalls can normally have a service to each section. Think about a strip center, all stores are technically the same structure, but they are all separated by firewalls, thus each store can have it's own electric service. Or....... a modern duplex.

PJ, ray, what do you two think?
 
  #6  
Old 02-13-13, 06:21 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,636
I like your reasoning Joe but what if he wants a light in it? A 240 volt fluorescent light? Probably 14-3 and a 2 space subpanel would be cheapest.
 
  #7  
Old 02-13-13, 10:12 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
I don't see anything in the OP to indicate that everything including the new shed isn't all part of one structure.
 
  #8  
Old 02-13-13, 10:20 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,439
You are probably right.....it's technically part of the garage.
 
  #9  
Old 02-14-13, 05:41 AM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 994
"If the garage already has power you can't run a second circuit."

I know what the code says but really don't understand this restriction. Can someone explain the reason for it? Makes no sense to me.
 
  #10  
Old 02-14-13, 06:54 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,636
The code doesn't explain it dictates. Any answer would be best guess but I'd be interested also. There are even in the code exceptions when you get into industrial wiring.
 
  #11  
Old 02-14-13, 07:02 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 984
Thanks for all the responses. However, a lot of these nuances are sliding right past me. FWIW, I am not permitting this and wouldn't do anything that I considered unsafe. I am just desperate for add'l storage space that is slightly heated so I can store paint, etc. There will not be any passage way from garage to leanto.
 
  #12  
Old 02-14-13, 07:41 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,636
What you do is your final decision but the forum can't officially endorse code violations.

If the garage is currently served by conduit there is a simple code compliant solution. Add one wire to that conduit and install a subpanel in the garage. Option number two would be to run 12-3 UF-b to the lean-to instead of 14-2 and put a subpanel there to supply both the lean-to and garage. Then abandon the cable to the garage. Even if you went non-code the last solution is about the same amount of work and costs only slightly more.
 
  #13  
Old 02-14-13, 10:03 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 984
The garage already has a 60 amp sub panel coming from my shop. This was permitted and installed by a licensed electrician 9 years ago. Both shop and garage are detached and separated 30-50 feet from the house. Thanks for all the suggestions.
 
  #14  
Old 02-14-13, 11:28 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,636
The garage already has a 60 amp sub panel
Now why didn't you say that eight posts ago? You are golden then. Just run from that subpanel.
 
  #15  
Old 02-14-13, 11:30 AM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
The garage already has a 60 amp sub panel coming from my shop.
Thanks. More information is almost always helpful.

Adding a dedicated 15A 240V branch circuit to your existing subpanel should be as legal as sunshine. The only codes regulations you should have to worry about should be the ones covering wiring methods.
 
  #16  
Old 02-14-13, 11:35 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 984
Sorry Ray. My original question was just about wire size.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'