Tried to install dimmer, now hall light doesn't work!

Old 02-16-13, 09:08 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb Tried to install dimmer, now hall light doesn't work!

Hi all,

I'm no electrician but have installed a dimmer in our house before. It was a while ago, and in a different room. This time around my wife tried to install one in our bedroom. It's a 1950's home, all electrical feeds into a breaker panel.

I'm not sure how she set it up, but the dimmer wouldn't work at all. It wouldn't turn on or dim. And then it was noticed the hall light wouldn't work now either even though it wasn't touched. They were on the same breaker along with another separate outlet (which still worked/works). And yes I tried switching the bulbs on the hall light.

I went in to see what we were dealing with on the switch she tried to change and there was two same color wires (brown/black sheath) and one black sheath wire. I figured the black was the ground wire. Anyways I tried setting up the dimmer and no luck. So I switched back to the original switch and it worked. But now the hall light still doesn't work! Even flipping the breaker on and off won't bring it back. I'm really not sure how this happened, what could be wrong now or how to fix it.

But I did go back to the switch that I had put a dimmer on before (completely different room / breaker switch). And it looks like a previous owner had merged a black wire and a brown/black wire (taped together) - that's the only difference on that one. And the dimmer works there.

Any ideas what I'm dealing with here? Figure I will call in an electrician but curious to know if there's an easy fix or what could be happening here before making that call.

Thanks a bunch!

Sponsored Links
Old 02-16-13, 09:36 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 31 Votes on 27 Posts
First black is never a ground.

Check the connections and see if a wire has a loose or missing connection.

Wire nuts shouldbe used to hold splices together, not tape.