110v ac step-down current to 12v dc 30 amp to an inverter

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-21-13, 08:39 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 8
110v ac step-down current to 12v 15amp to an inverter

I'm from NY, moved to europe. I have equipment that can't be replaced here that NEEDS 120v 60hz electricity, the 60hz. frequency is imperative. good thing is, I have a Good 11 pound 220 50hz to 110 50hz step down. and the motor only needs 80 watts *2 for surge = 160.

Going to get a 300 watt pure sine wave inverter. change the 110v 50hz to 12v dc again, and back up to 120 60hz ac.

The problem I'm facing is, the converter from the 110v 50hz step down will convert that current to 12v dc at 15 amps, volts * amps = 180 watts. the converter is labled 200 watts that will be feeding the 300 watt inverter. I'm only running an 80 watt device so I should be ok,

but passing that 12v dc @ 180 watts though a 300 watt pure sine converter make things so inefficient I will have problems ..

again..

220v/50hz to 110v/50hz to 12v/15amps through a 300 watt pure sine.. = 110v60hz..

man wish I had a friend who knew about electricity..

This plugged into This plugged into This


Yeah I know thread title said 30 am 12v .. Ive been pondering between This and This for the 12v step...
 

Last edited by Brian Peet; 02-21-13 at 09:05 PM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-21-13, 09:05 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,228
That last piece in your chain is 24 vdc.....not 12vdc input.

You're quite certain your equipment can't run on 50hz service ?
 
  #3  
Old 02-21-13, 09:10 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 8
have the same model inverser set aside that's 12v - price is great - so call me a stickler, don't want to link it haha, assuming it's 12v, can I pull off 60Hz in a 50Hz grid with those items in that fashion powering 80 watts on an item meant for 120 volts? and yes, been through 2 transformers on the equipment because the 50hz made fans malfunction and the transformers overheated.
 
  #4  
Old 02-21-13, 09:20 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 8
Nevermind the technology is from the 1950's.
 
  #5  
Old 02-21-13, 09:28 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,228
The way you are proposing is one of the few cost effective ways to do it. You have to have an inverter in the chain to upconvert from 50 to 60 hz power.
 
  #6  
Old 02-21-13, 09:42 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 8
but in your opinion, this is where I'm wavering,

I am going from a 110v 50hz 500 watt step down to a 300 watt 12v input inverser, I need 12v dc..

This .. well .. makes sense light, easy for family to get to me here in europe ect... and I think It can make due for now when it come to purpose..

This pulls 20 amps constant in line with reviews .. specs say 30 amps double that on the above on the 12v dc step (something tells me it's a 20 amp model with a 30 amp fuse).. It's also over the weight restrictions on import duties and adds 50-70 more to cost. But in the long run might be more useful, the company has less of a rep than the smaller item above.

just kinda feel torn.. and need advise, the pure sine inverser is 300 watt / 450 surge, just would like the 12v feed to be as near in line, without stressing out my family for sending it here..
 

Last edited by Brian Peet; 02-21-13 at 10:40 PM.
  #7  
Old 02-22-13, 09:58 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Stepping down from 220 VAC to 110 VAC and then down again from 110VAC to 12VDC is unnecessary. You could just a 12VDC power supply that runs off 220VAC 50/60 HZ. After that you would use an inverter to create your 60hz 110 VAC power source.
 
  #8  
Old 02-22-13, 03:43 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 8
this occurred to me, but coming across an adequate 220vac - 12vdc supply (15amps or higher) here isn't easy to find on eBay.es: Subastas, Comprar Nuevo y Segunda Mano. Siempre ofertas or Amazon.es: libros, cine, electrónica, videojuegos y más. . The few I've found once paid in euros vs. US dollars where these items are actually sold thus cheaper turn out to be outrageously expensive vs. taking the step down to 110vac and then to 12vdc, especially since I have the 500watt 220vdc to 110vac industrial regulated step down unit. I know it's unnecessary, but at the moment makes sense Thank you though, wish I could.
 

Last edited by Brian Peet; 02-22-13 at 05:01 PM.
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes