wire for gas boiler

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-22-13, 11:11 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 117
wire for gas boiler

Do we need a dedicated circuit for gas boiler (for heating)? I am thinking add two receptacles to the boiler wire circuit. Is this ok from code point of view? thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-22-13, 04:03 PM
NJT's Avatar
NJT
NJT is offline
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 23,539
This might be a question to ask in the electrical forum... I'm gonna move it from the boiler forum to there...

I should think that the electrical guys would have their code books right at hand!

I don't know if it's against code or not, but I don't think I would do it myself.
 
  #3  
Old 02-22-13, 05:04 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,399
National Electric Code requires a dedicated circuit for central heating equipment but your LOCAL code may have amended this requirement. When I had a new furnace installed the installers insisted on putting in a duplex receptacle ahead of the local disconnect on the furnace in spite of the fact that an existing receptacle was installed within three feet of the furnace. They told me it was something they routinely installed.

After I had my replacement furnace installed (they originally installed the wrong one) I went back and removed their receptacle.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes