Circuit for Tankless Water Heater

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-23-13, 12:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 17
Circuit for Tankless Water Heater

I am running some additional circuits for various things. I want to get a Rinnai tankless gas water hater in the future and I understand it needs 120VAC to operate, presumably for control functions only. Looks like it draws very little current so a 15A circuit would be more than sufficient. Question- Is there a requirement (code or otherwise) that this be a dedicated circuit or can I just run it off an existing lighting/outlet circuit? Also, can anyone tell me if this heater requires an outlet or is it hard wired in to the heater? Thanks! Jay
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-23-13, 01:05 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,361
Unless the instructions call for a dedicated circuit you should be able to add this to an existing circuit, providing there is enough reserve capacity in the circuit. This assumes you are adding a gas tankless WH.
 
  #3  
Old 02-23-13, 03:14 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: KS
Posts: 1,896
You didn't specify a model number, but for the most part, gas tankless heaters usually come with a cord and plug. I believe they can be hardwired but it would require a service disconnect within sight of the unit. And you are correct, in a gas tankless, the power connection is just for the control and ignition functions. A couple amps tops while in use, less than an amp in standby.
 
  #4  
Old 02-23-13, 07:41 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 17
Thanks for the replies!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'