Legrand Pass & Seymour TM8HWL Nightlight/Outlet

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-24-13, 05:29 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Wiring Help!

I am attempting to wire a Legrand Pass & Seymour Nightlight/Outlet model number TM8HWL. There are two Romex cables feeding into the junction box that I am attempting to install the Nightlight/Outlet. One of the Romex cables is a 12-3 coming from the circuit breaker. Another is a 14-3 that provides power to a three way switch further up the wall.

Simply put, I have two Romex cables each with a black, red, white, and ground wire. However, the NightLight/Outlet has only two screws and a ground screw. According to the instructions one screw is for the neutral wire and the other is for the hot wire. What I can't seem to figure out is the correct configuration of wires within the junction box in order to make pigtails and correctly wire the Nightlight/Outlet.

Please Help A.S.A.P.

Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-24-13, 05:40 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,512
Welcome to the forum.

A 12-3 and a 14-3 in the same junction box..... are you sure ?

Is this circuit you are working on...... protected by a 15 amp breaker or two ?

You may have to draw us a little picture of what you are doing.
Do these two cables come into a single box ?
What was in this box before ?
I'm guessing all wiring was in place and something was connected here at this point and you removed it to install that night light outlet ?
 
  #3  
Old 02-24-13, 05:45 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 7
It is a old work junction box. Nothing was there but wall before. Originally, the 12-3 ran from the circuit breaker to the the three way switch above the current nightlight/outlet. The 12-3 didn't have any slack in the lightswitch junction box so we decided to drop it down the wall into the new box and provide power to the nightlight/outlet and then up the wall with a 14-3 to the three way switch. Also, the nightlight/outlet doesn't work any way that I have tried to wire it. However, when I simply put a wire nut on all the whites, blacks, reds, and grounds the three way light switch works perfectly. This at least lets me know that nothing is wrong with the Romex on either end.
 
  #4  
Old 02-24-13, 06:00 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,512
I can draw a little pic if I understand what you are doing.
The 12-3 from the panel.......is that supplying that box with two circuits or just one and is it on a 15 amp breaker?
If it's just one circuit then either the red OR black should be capped in the box and at the panel end.

If it is only one circuit....then you can also cap off the extra wire between your existing switch box and your new receptacle box.

Obviously you have a new piece of 14-3 at your existing switch box. What other wires/cables are in there ?
 
  #5  
Old 02-24-13, 06:04 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 7
It is on a 15 amp breaker. However, I am not sure if it is being supplied with one or two circuits. All that is in the junction box are the two romex cables. One is the 12-3 coming from the breaker and the other is the 14-3 that travels from the new junction box to the three way switch above. After doing a little tinkering I have discovered that as long as the two black wires are connected in the junction box the light switch works regardless of whether or not the reds are also capped with them. However, I still cannot get the Nightlight/Outlet to work as well.
 
  #6  
Old 02-24-13, 06:25 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,512
Did you try connecting that receptacle to the black and white connections.
 
  #7  
Old 02-24-13, 06:39 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Yes I have tried that both connected to all romex. I have connected it this way using both romex cables as well as only using the connection I have from the breaker. Any suggestions?
 
  #8  
Old 02-24-13, 06:57 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,512
It should work on the black and white wires. The white carries the neutral and you said connecting the blacks makes the switch operate. That suggests that the black wire is live.

Keep in mind......that after connecting that P&S receptacle.....the nightlight only comes on in the dark.
 
  #9  
Old 02-24-13, 07:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Thanks. I have checked in the dark as well as checked the outlet. However, I just noticed that if either of the three way switches were flipped (making the light go off) the night light works. How can I wire this so that the outlet will operate independently of the three way switch.
 
  #10  
Old 02-24-13, 07:15 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 7
If both switches are off everything works. However, if either switch is on nothing on the outlet works. Both switches still operate the light just fine.
 
  #11  
Old 02-24-13, 07:17 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,512
It sounds like you have interrupted a three switch circuit in the middle. The 12-3 that you thought went to the panel sounds like it's going to the other three way switch.

If this is the case......then you can not install that receptacle in this part of the circuit.
 
  #12  
Old 02-24-13, 07:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 7
I believe you are correct. The switch above is the second switch and I am interrupting the circuit. Thank you so much for your help though.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'