Proper way to daisy chain an outlet from a timer

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-27-13, 06:01 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 240
Proper way to daisy chain an outlet from a timer

Hi:
I currently have an outdoor GFCI outlet with a timer plugged into it that controls garden lights close to the house. Both outlet and timer are mounted to a fence about 2' above ground. We now want to sting lights to a back fence about 30' from that timer but controlled by the timer. We want all outdoor lighs to turn on and off at the same time. Please comment on my plan:
1. Mount an outdoor switch box with a pigtail that has a plug. This will plug into the timer.
2. Run outdoor conduit from this switch box back to the fence.
3. Mount a GFCI to the back fence, fed by the line coming through the conduit.
4. Plug the lights into this new GFCI.

Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-27-13, 06:22 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,273
Receptacles

Why are you using two GFCI's in the same circuit?
 
  #3  
Old 02-27-13, 06:56 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,352
You cannot use flexible cords in place of building wiring so adding a pigtail to feed the downstream receptacle is a no-go.
 
  #4  
Old 02-27-13, 07:40 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 240
Thank you for your response. Can you recommend a proper solution?
 
  #5  
Old 02-27-13, 08:15 AM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
How about a hardwired timer? Here's the one I use to control the contactors for my Christmas lights : Shop Utilitech Digital Commercial Or Residential Hardwired Timer at Lowes.com

You can also use a photocell.
 
Attached Images  
  #6  
Old 02-27-13, 09:26 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 240
Angry

Thanks for the recommendation.
 
  #7  
Old 02-27-13, 02:23 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
How do you have the existing lights connected to the timer?
 
  #8  
Old 02-27-13, 03:39 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 240
"How do you have the existing lights connected to the timer?"

Lights are connected to the transformer (not sure if that's the correct title) and the transformer plugged into a mounted outdoor timer.
 
  #9  
Old 02-27-13, 04:17 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,636
You never mentioned this was low voltage wiring. That is a totally different thing. Are the new lights low voltage? Please clarify what you have and what you want to do. Do you want to add a line voltage receptacle some where in your yard from an existing receptacle and to plug a low voltage transformer into the new receptacle?

Lights are connected to the transformer (not sure if that's the correct title) and the transformer plugged into a mounted outdoor timer
Why? A Malabu or other low voltage yard light transformer usually includes a timer.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'