Help Needed Wiring Metal Furniture

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-06-13, 07:59 PM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Help Needed Wiring Metal Furniture

Hi,

I am making a simple steel desk for myself and would like to have 6 electrical outlets wired on the back lip of the metal table top with the wire going through the frame and out of the bottom of the table leg to the wall outlet. I am using square tubing and was wondering what precautions I need to take in order to not risk electrify the frame? I have taken a basic residential elec. course so I know how to wire outlets, switches etc.

Any help would really be appreciated.

-Kyle
 
  #2  
Old 03-06-13, 08:25 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,422
Received 1,407 Votes on 1,302 Posts
Welcome to the forums !

It sounds like you are in need of a power strip.

You could probably purchase a fairly nice looking power strip with a longer than normal cord. Cut the plug off and route the wiring thru the leg. You would use rubber grommets where the cord enters and exits the leg. Install a new plug on it and you're set.


Can you post a picture of your table ?
 
  #3  
Old 03-06-13, 09:57 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,469
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
What are the inside dimensions of the table leg? You can also use a Wiremold raceway to mount your outlets in and feed it with a piece of Type MC cable. That would require you to mount a junction box at the bottom of the table leg to convert to a flexible cord.

Or you could run the flexible cord up to the raceway if you chose the right type of cord.
 
  #4  
Old 03-07-13, 05:26 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,782
Received 99 Votes on 89 Posts
I'd use something like this............

PowerTap Power and Data Desk Outlet

............and just plug the cord into the nearest receptacle.
 
  #5  
Old 03-07-13, 05:56 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,422
Received 1,407 Votes on 1,302 Posts
That requires a big hole to be cut. Is that your intention ?

Originally I thought somethink like this:
 
Attached Images  
  #6  
Old 03-07-13, 06:37 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,782
Received 99 Votes on 89 Posts
Here are some that don't require a hole to be cut.

Removable Desktop Outlets for Convenient Power and Data Plug-Ins
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: