Another Generator Power Inlet Box Wiring Quetion

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-08-13, 12:43 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Another Generator Power Inlet Box Wiring Quetion

I am wiring my Power Inlet box which is on the outside of my finished attached garage. I am using 10/3 NM-B wire behind the finished walls in the garage. my run from the garage to the transfer switch in the basement is all behind finished walls. the very last section will be about 6 - 8 inches of the exposed NM-B where it comes through the wall to where the transfer switch is. My question is, can this 6 - 8 inches be exposed? I know I can't put it in PVC/Conduit, but can it be exposed? I live in RI, and RI follows current NEC 2011 code.

thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-08-13, 02:10 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,493
Received 33 Votes on 25 Posts
What makes you think you cannot put it in conduit? If the exposed cable is "subject to damage" then it MUST be enclosed to prevent damage. Conduit IS an acceptable method of protecting cable from damage.
 
  #3  
Old 03-08-13, 02:21 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I think I can't put it in conduit because 50% of what I read says nm-b is not allowed in conduit (but then again, no one ever specifically references code that says you can't). thanks for the info.
 
  #4  
Old 03-08-13, 02:41 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,983
Received 35 Votes on 30 Posts
You are allowed to sleeve the cable.
 
  #5  
Old 03-08-13, 05:09 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Best practice not national code is not to use NM in a complete conduit installation is what you read here. As long as as you are not running uninterrupted conduit from one end to the other even that best practice is not applicable.
 
  #6  
Old 03-08-13, 07:06 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,239
Received 40 Votes on 32 Posts
I think I can't put it in conduit because 50% of what I read says nm-b is not allowed in conduit (but then again, no one ever specifically references code that says you can't).
There's a really good reason no one references code that says you can't put it in conduit, that's because there is no code reference as far as I know that forbids it. I believe there is some language that speaks of cable assemblies in conduit, but I can't quote them. Like rays says, best practice is to not use NM cable in a complete conduit installation.
 
  #7  
Old 03-09-13, 06:16 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks for all the replies. i can now complete my install.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: