DC Circuit advice

Old 03-10-13, 03:41 AM
DC Circuit advice

Hello everyone,
This is my first time in your forums which I found trying to find a bit of assistance with a little project that I have on the go at the moment. I am not an electrician at all, and I am only just learning so please bear with me if I ask a stupid question or have done something which is not the correct way to do it.

A bit of background into my project. I have a huge background in PCís, from network security and administrations (which is my qualification) to building and modifying gaming PCís and cases (as a hobby) and have used LEDís on computer modifications, but they have always been easy where I have just measured the voltage going across them and simply just replaced them with another colour of the same voltage. I have never really understood how they work. So, I made the following, which consists of 22 LEDís in parallel which run off a modded USB cable which puts out 5v and 500Ma after a 3 day crash course in google reading up on how it all works.

I found this really easy to do, so decided to make one where the LEDís light up in response to receiving a sound signal from the surround sound and this is where I am now asking for some guidance. I have made a prototype in which I have got connected to a Logitech X-530 5.1 Surround System using the RCA connectors. The diagram below shows how I have planned the LEDís to light in response to the sound/music. (Please excuse the barbaric schematic). Through some research, I found that the transistor opens and closes the circuit when it receives an electrical signal from the positive audio wire which works fine.