Basic 110v to 220 v converter question

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-12-13, 02:05 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5
Basic 110v to 220 v converter question

Hey all !

I'm new to the forum and I had a quick question regarding buying a converter for converting 110v to 220v.

So I bought this mini component system from Europe, the Yamaha MCR 040. The back of the Yamaha shows the wattage as 30W and it works on 220v.

MCR-040 - HiFi Systems - Yamaha - UK and Ireland


Now I plan to take this back home to Boston and I was wondering which converter I should get. I cam across this converter from amazon :

Amazon.com: Seven Star 50 Watt Step Up Reverse International Converter: Electronics

Would something like that be enough or would I need to get something a little more powerful like

Amazon.com: Goldsource STU-100 Step Up/Down Voltage Transformer Converter - AC 110/220 V - 100 Watt: Electronics


I didn't know if the wattage just had to line up or is there something more to picking a converter.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-12-13, 02:37 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Welcome to the forums! Members more savvy in European stuff will chime in, but in your case not only do you have to change the voltage from 120 which is common here in the states to 220 or 240, you will need to change the frequency from 50 Hertz, as we are on 60 here in the states. It isn't always cheaper to buy things from overseas and expect a simple voltage change to make them work. Hang in there for more comments from the other guys later on.
 
  #3  
Old 03-12-13, 02:40 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5
Wow ! I didn't think of that ! Kind of serves me right for getting stuff from here. I should have just ordered the mini component from Amazon in the first place !
 
  #4  
Old 03-12-13, 03:06 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
I didn't mean to rain on your parade, but, yeah, it may have cost less in the long run to order from a local outlet than bring something from overseas. I think it is retaliation for the Revolutionary War, or something like that
 
  #5  
Old 03-12-13, 08:06 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,662
If the device runs off a separate low voltage power supply that is not built in but just plugs into the wall this is easy. You just use a US power supply with the same low voltage output. Same goes for if it has a battery connection. A US low voltage DC power supply can be used.

IF neither of the above applies then it is trickier. One way to do it is to use a power supply made for US market that converts 120 60hz AC to 12 volts DC then use a European DC to AC converter that converts 12 volts DC to 220 volts 50Hz AC.

However tha actual unit probably runs on low voltage DC so you could bypass the 220v 50Hz built in power supply and connect it directly to a low voltage DC power supply of the correct voltage. Of course with modern ICs and printed circuit boards that could be darn hard to figure out.

Or you could try a smoke test with a 120v to 220v transformer. If it doesn't burn up in a few hours you are probably good to go.
 
  #6  
Old 03-12-13, 10:21 AM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
You could always wire in a UK receptacle for the radio on a 240V circuit.
 
  #7  
Old 03-12-13, 10:38 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,662
You could always wire in a UK receptacle for the radio on a 240V circuit.
That would be another "smoke test" since the UK is 220 volts not 240 volts and the frequency is wrong so a may affect power transformers in the stereo. Also UK 220 supplies have a grounded conductor but US 240v supplies don't. Whether that would cause a problem I can't say.
 
  #8  
Old 03-12-13, 01:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5
Well, the device connects directly to the wall, in Europe, and it works off a 220v power supply. It doesn't have a separate adaptor or anything. Does that help ?
 
  #9  
Old 03-12-13, 01:35 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,662
Nope, makes it worse. If it had a separate power supply that could be replaced with a US one with the same output it would be easier. Read post #5.
 
  #10  
Old 03-12-13, 02:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5
Looks like I' going to have to smoke test with the adaptor just coverting the voltage

I just confirmed on the back of the unit - its 230v 50 hz.

Thanks a lot though guys ! Appreciate it !
 
  #11  
Old 03-12-13, 04:29 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,662
In the UK you can also probably buy a travel adapter for using UK appliances in the US. That is probably the best option. Or you could run a 240 15 amp circuit with a 6-15 NEMA receptacle and change the plug on the stereo to a 6-15R.

Examle: US to UK Plug Travel Adaptor: Amazon.co.uk: Electronics
 
  #12  
Old 03-12-13, 05:04 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 563
In practice, difference between 230V and 240V may not pose much of a problem, but if the device requires 50Hz for circuit timing, then there will be a problem.

If I were in your shoes, I'd find out if there's an American version of this device, and if so, if a replacement power supply could be ordered for such an American unit. Trouble is, if something still takes timing off of the 50Hz AC current then that still might be a problem.
 
  #13  
Old 03-12-13, 07:03 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Every boombox I ever took apart had an internal transformer then the power went right into a bridge rectifier.
 
  #14  
Old 03-12-13, 07:53 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5
Maybe I'm taking this a tad bit too far - But I went ahead and found the circuit diagram for the device ! I think it goes to the transformer, trying to decipher the rest of it :P
 
Attached Images
File Type: pdf
blockdiag.pdf (33.9 KB, 327 views)
  #15  
Old 03-12-13, 08:06 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,662
Certainly not simple changing out the transformers.

 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'