[Stewart 1] A/C Generator Problem

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-15-13, 10:46 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Spain
Posts: 3
[Stewart 1] A/C Generator Problem

I have a second hand 5kva genset of Chinese manufacture. Unfortunately all details of the generator are long gone. My problem is that whilst the voltage is fine it's producing 150+hz frequency instead of the required 50hz. Can anybody please give me some idea what the problem might be.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-15-13, 11:13 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: KS
Posts: 1,896
Wrong engine speed. Normal engine speeds are 4 pole/50Hz = 1500RPM, 4 pole/60Hz = 1800RPM, 2 pole/50Hz = 3000RPM, 2 pole/60Hz = 3600RPM. If the engine speed is not matched to the type of alternator, the frequency will be off.
 
  #3  
Old 03-15-13, 11:37 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,399
If your frequency meter is reading 150 Hz then the meter is at fault.
 
  #4  
Old 03-15-13, 01:30 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 231
Agree with Furd. It must be the meter is bad or your getting noise causing a bad reading. Try it with the generator driving a heavy load.
 
  #5  
Old 03-16-13, 04:04 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Spain
Posts: 3
Many thanks all. The meter is OK as reads correctly when measuring from our solar system. Has been suggested that it maybe the capacitor. Any comments?
 
  #6  
Old 03-16-13, 06:40 AM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 994
"Measuring from our solar system?" What does that mean?
 
  #7  
Old 03-16-13, 08:20 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,044
What about testing is on a source from a commercial electric provider?
 
  #8  
Old 03-16-13, 09:32 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 4,941
"Measuring from our solar system?" What does that mean?
Probably their solar panels.
 
  #9  
Old 03-16-13, 09:43 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,108
Measuring the output of the inverter on the solar panels.
 
  #10  
Old 03-17-13, 05:34 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Spain
Posts: 3
Thanks again. The tester has been tried on a commercial supply and we tested the output from the invertor on our solar system. Any thoughts please on whether the problem could be the caspacitor.
 
  #11  
Old 03-17-13, 06:26 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 39
The harmonics of the generator will cause funky readings on the meter.

The capacitor is there to excite the windings and weed out voltage surges.
 
  #12  
Old 03-18-13, 11:36 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
I had same problem

I tried everything but could never get it to work right. I finally had to call in a professional. They were able to get it going in about 10 minutes. Try *** ****
 

Last edited by Nashkat1; 03-18-13 at 11:46 PM. Reason: To remove link
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes