Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Arrow Hart Murray main panel and adding a subpanel on the new building

Arrow Hart Murray main panel and adding a subpanel on the new building

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-17-13, 09:24 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 563
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Arrow Hart Murray main panel and adding a subpanel on the new building

Hey all,

The workshop build is coming along nicely, and we're planning for the electric service.

The house itself is served by a panel with "Arrow Hart Murray" on the cover, it's an integrated service entrance/meter/breaker panel unit. The breakers are arranged in two horizontal rows, rather than two vertical rows. There's an unused position in the top row next to a single-pole breaker that's unused, and the bottom row has a couple of positions that were previously in use for a pool that is now no longer present.

I'm assuming that a pair of hot wires, a neutral wire, and a ground wire will need to be pulled through the in-ground conduit, and that the two hots and the neutral will need to be sized the same, and that the ground can be sized a little smaller. I'm currently planning on 2AWG THWN for the hots and neutral, and 8AWG for the ground...

The new building foundation does have ground. I assume that even with this, I need to bond the grounds together and to the sub panel itself, but the neutral needs to be non-bonded, letting that occur in the main panel only...

I'm sizing this for 100A total. The workshop will have an air compressor, a vehicle lift, an evap cooler, a couple of circuits of lights, and at least two, possibly four electrical circuits for outlets.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-17-13, 09:38 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 563
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Oh, it looks like SER cable might be a better choice... 2-2-2-4 cable is apparently available, would that actually be the best choice? Conduit will be 2" PVC in the ground...
 
  #3  
Old 03-17-13, 09:58 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,227
Received 478 Votes on 448 Posts
Depending on the length it might be a little light. However.....SER is not rated for underground use. You would have to use USE (underground service entry) and I don't think you can pull USE thru pipe.

Personally I'd stick with the three #2 THWN's and one #8 THWN. If you were to use aluminum it really should be #1

You will also need ground rods at your shop panel.
 
  #4  
Old 03-18-13, 12:45 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 563
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Okay, got it, no SER.

When the shop foundation was built the ground was installed...

Name:  ground.jpg
Views: 2829
Size:  40.8 KB

I assume that this will be enough...

We're going to find a subpanel that fits nicely between the two studs if possible.
 
  #5  
Old 03-18-13, 02:31 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,983
Received 35 Votes on 30 Posts
If that is a Ufer ground you should be fine as far as grounding.

Most panels will fit between standard stud spacing.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: