New Honeywell In Wall Timer - Neutral vs ground wire

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-19-13, 06:05 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
New Honeywell In Wall Timer - Neutral vs ground wire

I had an Intermatic ST01 switch that worked well for three years, but started having problems so I replaced it with a Honeywell RPLS730B.

For the Intermatic you needed a ground wire, for the Honeywell you need a neutral wire. There is no neutral wire in the box that I am aware of so connected the Honeywell neutral wire to the ground wire in the box.

All seems to be working fine. This is new construction. Am I looking for problems here? Anything that could go wrong?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-19-13, 07:05 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,271
Received 43 Votes on 35 Posts
All seems to be working fine. This is new construction. Am I looking for problems here? Anything that could go wrong?
If it's new construction, it won't, or shouldn't, pass inspection. If your area is under the 2011 NEC, a neutral conductor is required in each switch box. What you are now doing is using a bare ground wire as a current carrying conductor. It's a safety issue as well as a code violation.
 
  #3  
Old 03-19-13, 07:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I meant it is a newer home - not new construction. Three years old.
 
  #4  
Old 03-19-13, 07:24 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,271
Received 43 Votes on 35 Posts
I meant it is a newer home - not new construction. Three years old.
Regardless, it's still a safety issue and a code violation. I'd either find a new timer that doesn't require a neutral conductor or think about doing some rewiring. If a bare current carrying conductor was OK to use, there would be no need for the black and white conductors to be insulated.
 
  #5  
Old 03-20-13, 06:02 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,996
Received 39 Votes on 34 Posts
You need to find a different timer that does not need a neutral or you need to do some rewiring.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: