Wiring 3 Way Swtich - UPZB

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-21-13, 04:04 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 13
Wiring 3 Way Swtich - UPB

I just replaced a 2 wall switches, 3 Way Switch, with a new HAI 35A00 and Auxiliary 37A00. Can anyone confirm if the new wiring configuration looks correct. The switches seem to work, but I don't want it to burn the house down next week
Name:  SCN_103.jpg
Views: 1138
Size:  28.5 KB

The builder had a white wire, connected to a black hot wire, and so the color labels of some of the wires may be non-conventional - but I'm hoping its wired correctly...

Thanks,
Brett
 

Last edited by Bpet12; 03-21-13 at 04:21 PM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-21-13, 04:40 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Welcome to the forums!

Without more information, it is difficult to determine. The original wiring looks correct. Your new switches, with Line, Control and Neutral - plus Load on one - do not appear to be 3-way switches. Are they? Can you post the wiring diagram supplied by the manufacturer, or a link to it?
 
  #3  
Old 03-21-13, 05:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 13
Thanks for the reply! Here is the wiring diagram:
http://www.homeauto.com/Downloads/Pr...WallSwitch.pdf
 
  #4  
Old 03-22-13, 12:29 AM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Thanks. I'm trying to figure out the best way to make the diagram big enough to read.
 
  #5  
Old 03-22-13, 04:31 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,041
 
  #6  
Old 03-22-13, 08:00 AM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Thanks, Ray. Bpet, your wiring does not appear to follow the diagram in Ray's post.
 
  #7  
Old 03-22-13, 11:14 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 13
Nashkat1, do you mean that the 'colors' of the wires are different, or is there something that is incorrect with the wiring, ie: the neutrals, the lines, load etc.?

Thanks,
Brett
 
  #8  
Old 03-24-13, 09:10 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Nashkat1, do you mean that the 'colors' of the wires are different, or is there something that is incorrect with the wiring, ie: the neutrals, the lines, load etc.?
I meant the wiring, but I take it back. I think I just hadn't followed your sketch and your creative use of the individual conductors closely enough.

Reviewing it now, it looks like your setup should work. I apologize for the confusion.
 
  #9  
Old 03-25-13, 05:58 AM
tevil's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 392
this is the diagram I ALWAYS use lol (I cant never remember how to do this since I do it like once a year).
I tend to always rewire the fixture (for my homes) so it routes power from light. It seems to "me" to be the easiest way to do it in my situations.

Installing A 3-way Switch With Wiring Diagrams - The Home Improvement Web Directory

[ATTACH=CONFIG]10621[/ATTACH]
 
Attached Images  
  #10  
Old 03-25-13, 05:40 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
I can't read the diagram because it's so small and, when I try to blow it up, it gets too fuzzy. It's perfectly possible to feed power from a ceiling outlet to a pair of 3-way switches that ends in a dead end. The only thing is, to meet the code requirement for a neutral in every switch box, you need to have four current-carrying conductors between the two switches: One for power, two for travelers and one for the neutral. Plus ground, of course.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes