Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Running thermostat bell wire. Can it be ran with high voltage wires?

Running thermostat bell wire. Can it be ran with high voltage wires?

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-25-13, 04:21 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Running thermostat bell wire. Can it be ran with high voltage wires?

Running a thermostat wire the length of my garage. I ideally would like to run the bell wire over the rafters really close to the wall to avoid a trip hazard in the attic. However, there are many wires (110v) for the outlets which take the same path the entire way to the heater. I've been told your not supposed to run low voltage wires next to high voltage wires do to interference. However, I'm likely thinking of low voltage wires for telephones. Should I be concerned or does it make no difference what so ever.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-25-13, 06:13 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,565
Received 510 Votes on 480 Posts
It would be best to keep the low voltage wiring separated from the high voltage wires by at least six inches if possible to eliminate any interference.
 
  #3  
Old 03-25-13, 07:35 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,057
Received 73 Votes on 65 Posts
The interference issue is more for communication cables (Coax, Phone, cat5 data) then thermostats. I have never had any issues with line voltage wires near thermostat wires. (or doorbell for that matter.)
 
  #4  
Old 03-26-13, 06:34 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
I normally ONLY see that as an issue with communication wires. Are the wires for a thermostat? If so, what kind?
 
  #5  
Old 03-27-13, 04:15 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Just a cheaper Honeywell 3 wires to turn the heat on or engage only the fan.

I'll likely run the wire along the underside of a board that runs the center span of the garage. I ran the bell wire to the garage door opener that way already.
 
  #6  
Old 03-27-13, 05:17 AM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,245
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
You should have no problems doing it that way.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: