water in electrical panel

Old 03-27-13, 08:09 AM
water in electrical panel

New to the forum - great source of information!

I have been doing electrical work for nearly 20 years including whole house wiring, panel replacements, etc.

I recently ran a new circuit for a friend and when I opened the panel to install the breaker I noticed water from the common wire dripping down onto one of the bars. This is a very slow drop with no water pooling at the bottom of the panel. Upon closer inspection, the water is coming from inside the wire housing.

I checked the drop coming into the house and there is what I feel a sufficient drop to enter the mast from below. I then removed the elbow cap as the wires enter the house and it was completely dry. The meter came next. The area behind the meter was also dry and there was no indication from the connection of the common wires behind the meter that there is any water.

I'm assuming at this point that the problem may be between the meter and the electrical panel and that the common wire should be replaced to start. Although at this point, I can't explain the water...

Is there anything else I should be checking or any other thoughts on the reasons for the water? The meter does reside in a location on the house where melting water from snow will drip down onto it. However, this has been in place for some time and there hasn't been a problem to date (I added some additonal lines for them last summer and did not find any problems).

thanks in advance for any suggestions

Sponsored Links
Old 03-27-13, 09:03 AM
Group Moderator
Welcome to the forums.

I checked the drop coming into the house and there is what I feel a sufficient drop to enter the mast from below.
Not quite sure what that means.

Being an all pipe service the water would have to get in at the service head by following a wire with no drip loop or at the top of the meter pan where the hub is or a hole in the back of the meter pan.