Dead GFCI

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-30-13, 10:36 AM
ck1's Avatar
ck1
ck1 is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Whitestone, N.Y.
Posts: 84
Dead GFCI

Hi, Woke up this morning like any morning and went to make some toast and noticed the toaster oven wasnt working. Went to the GFCI outlet that controls this outlet and the little green light is out. Ok maybe it tripped, pushed reset button and nothing. Pressed test and reset and nothing. Hmm

Ok now I go into garage get my fluke, pull the outlet from the the box and I've got 120V touching the hot and common screws. Also touching hot and ground yeilds me 120V. I smell the GFCI outlet and it smells a little burnt.

So off to Home Depot to buy a new GFCI outlet. Get home, shut off breaker, hook it up, and everything is back to normal.

Is it common for a GFCI outlet to just die??

A little backround. Kitchen was redone in 2011 with all new electrical wiring, outlets, lighting ect.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-30-13, 10:40 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 18,523
Common? I don't know. Have I seen it happen? Yes.
 
  #3  
Old 03-30-13, 10:46 AM
ck1's Avatar
ck1
ck1 is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Whitestone, N.Y.
Posts: 84
Fair enough. Maybe Ill play Lotto tonite..
 
  #4  
Old 03-30-13, 11:01 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 18,523
Buddy of mine had one go in his kitchen while he was standing there once - a bit like fireworks going off was his recollection of the event. I saw the receptacle after he swapped it out, it was burnt and obviously past its useful life.
 
  #5  
Old 03-30-13, 11:17 AM
ck1's Avatar
ck1
ck1 is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Whitestone, N.Y.
Posts: 84
Well that's scary. Considering this outlet died while I was sleeping kinda creeps me out. Dont really know if it popped, sparked or what have you. And the wife says a smoke detector in every room is overkill.

Which brings me to..

What would Tim the Toolman Taylor do.

Yeah, Maybe Ill put 2 smoke detectors in each room.
 
  #6  
Old 03-30-13, 12:41 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 563
I've seen 'em popped too.

Look at it this way, better for the replaceable, fairly inexpensive, modular unit to pop than for the wiring in the wall to burn through, even if the wiring weren't to flame up...
 
  #7  
Old 03-30-13, 01:51 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,221
This obviously is a kitchen. I would not advise installing a smoke detector in a kitchen. If you are that worried, a heat detector would be the way to go.
 
  #8  
Old 03-30-13, 04:14 PM
ck1's Avatar
ck1
ck1 is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Whitestone, N.Y.
Posts: 84
Thanks CasualJoe. I'm sorry, but I was just tying to be a little funny suggesting 2 in each room. And no I dont have 1 in my kitchen.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'