Similar Bathroom Problem GFCI (metal box)

Old 04-02-13, 09:26 AM
Similar Bathroom Problem GFCI (metal box)

Post sepparated from: http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...utlet-fan.html

I've run a brand new 20 amp circuit with a GFCI in the main breaker box for an old bathroom in a home my son just bought. I traced back and removed the old non-grounded circuit which was tied into a light fixture. All great.
light, fan, shower light and two outlets. The three switched are all in a large combo metal box on one line and the outlets on another line, with both lines in a junction box.
All works great EXCEPT when i carefully cram all switches into the switch box.
WITH NO LOAD, GFCI breaker trips. I removed the outlets from the junction box and sure enough the problem is in the switch box.
I have not put a separate ground wire on the metal box itself. Nor have I used wire nuts for all grounds. I've never used a metal box for gfci circuit before and this seems like the flaw.
Do I have to be sure that the grounds aren't touching the metal box AND make sure a pigtail goes to a screw on the box?
Thanks, Rick (Uniontown, OH)

Last edited by ray2047; 04-02-13 at 09:43 AM.
Sponsored Links
Old 04-02-13, 09:54 AM
Group Moderator
Nor have I used wire nuts for all grounds. I've never used a metal box for gfci circuit before and this seems like the flaw.
All connections should be wire nutted. The ground must be pigtailed to the box.

Yes the problem is in the switch box, something is touching. Is the GFCI also in the switch box? How many gangs is the switch box. Can you post a picture of the switch box with the devices pulled out but connected so we can see the wiring. http://www.doityourself.com/forum/li...-pictures.html

Notes: Except in special cases only the receptacles need to be protected by a GFCI.
A GFCI does not need a ground to work but crossed wires may be causing it to trip.

Old 04-02-13, 10:16 AM