Electrical Subpanel in attic

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-05-13, 03:11 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2
Electrical Subpanel in attic

I want to put a subpanel (220v) in my attic to drop circuits to a remodeled kitchen. Plenty of clearence left and right and in front of the panel but attic is only 4' tall.

Per NEC; 110.26 (E) I need 6.5' clear headroom unless:

In existing dwelling units, service equipment or panelboards that do not exceed 200 amperes shall be permitted in spaces where the headroom is less than 2.0 m (6 1/ 2 ft).

House is existing, so am I ok with those clearences?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-05-13, 03:19 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,356
Do you have a permanent stairway to the attic or is it a hatch that requires a portable ladder? Panelboards require ready access and a ladder won't pass muster.
 
  #3  
Old 04-05-13, 03:23 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2
For the purpose of this discussion, let's say it a permanent ladder. It's not actually installed yet, but I've been planning on one anyways.
 
  #4  
Old 04-05-13, 03:28 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 13
I believe you are good to go with a panel less than 200A. Of course the code inspectors interpretation of that exception is the one that matters. Don't install it there and say "Ed said it was ok"
 
  #5  
Old 04-05-13, 03:44 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Welcome to the forums!

Make a sketch of the location and take it with you when you file for the permit. Then you'll know whether they're willing to approve your proposal and the conditions you will have to meet to pass final.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'