Installing 4 prong dryer outlet with old wiring.

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-05-13, 07:04 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 687
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Installing 4 prong dryer outlet with old wiring.

As most of the times, I am the cause of my own problems.

Damaged the dryer circuit wiring while doing the plumbing. I don't have electrical dryer so there is no dryer hooked up to that outlet at the moment, so I am doing all this work for someone else's benefit and possibly for a piece of mind, assuming I still have it. Decided to use a junction box above the actual receptacle to run new wiring. Found out that I have only 3 (total) wires in that circuit. Old construction or whatever caused them to run a 220 with no ground. So now I have 1 black, 1 white, 1 (naked) wires all 10G. I am calling the third wire naked because I do not consider it a ground.
Can i run a 4 wire romex from my junction box and connect the wires as follows:

Old wire - new wire

BLK - BLK
WHT - RED
NAKED - WHT

Since there was no (real) ground in the old wiring connecting the ground from the junction box (please note it's completely different circuit) to new wiring's ground wire.

Thanks in advance!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-05-13, 07:16 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,271
Received 43 Votes on 35 Posts
If by naked you mean a bare copper wire, as in 10-2 with ground romex (NM cable), that was never legal anyway. The old wiring should probably have been 1 Blk, 1 Red and 1 Wht. My opinion is no, you cannot connect a 4-wire receptacle to the old circuit. You need to run a new circuit with 10-3 w/G NM B cable
 
  #3  
Old 04-05-13, 07:40 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 687
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you

Thank you for a speedy reply.

I am considering just disconnecting the wires at the circuit breaker and drywalling the outlet. I am not using it, most people prefer the gas dryer anyway because of savings compare to the electric one. I see no point for me to run a completely new homerun from the opposite side of the house.
Not sure if I can drywall the outlet or just put a blank over it though.

Thanks again.
 
  #4  
Old 04-05-13, 09:04 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
If you cut the cable as short as possible at the breaker panel and shove it into the wall and do the same at the other end and remove the box, yes you can just patch the wall.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: