Adding door chime in the basement

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-06-13, 02:43 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Adding door chime in the basement

I read an earlier thread, but it as closed for some reason I did not understand.

My issue is can I purchase any door chime like a Heath ZenithWired Door Chime model #95B-B and simply connect it to the existing transformer along with the existing door bell?

Photo is of existing condition without new door chime.
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-06-13, 02:56 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,083
Received 372 Votes on 349 Posts
That other thread was getting redundant.

It looks like you have 2) 2 wire cables there. That's perfect. One cable will be the chime and the other is the button. When you purchase the new chime....pick up a 16 volt 20 watt (20va) transformer and replace the existing one in your picture.
 
  #3  
Old 04-06-13, 03:39 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks. I've been so puzzled for a LONG time. Electronics is not in my knowledge base.

Two years ago an electrician installed a wireless chime as a basement chime to "extend" the ring of the front doorbell from just in the main level to also the basement. Heck, along with other electrical work I hired the electrician to physically connect the additional chime! I could have installed a wireless chime and I have been frustrated ever since.

Now I'll finally have TWO wired chimes for the door bell.
 
  #4  
Old 04-06-13, 04:35 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Will a Johnstone Supply 20VA 120/20/240 Volt 24 Volt Secondary 2 ft. Mount Transformer work?
 
  #5  
Old 04-06-13, 06:08 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Might but why jerry-rig. Just use a transformer made for the job.
 
  #6  
Old 04-06-13, 08:38 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Oh! I looked online at home depot for a 20va transformer for a doorbell and that is what I found! Now I am REALLY confused.
 
  #7  
Old 04-06-13, 08:42 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
The transformer referenced in your earlier post is an auxiliary transformer for use in in systems such as heating and air conditioning, specifically commercial systems.

Example: Nutone C907 Transformer 16v 30va - Amazon.com
Most at the Home depot listed for multiple chimes seem to be only 15va. Better to go higher than 20va than lower. You original is probably 10va so it makes sense to at least double that which 15va doesn't do.
 
  #8  
Old 04-07-13, 08:27 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Red face

Thanks, I was following PJmax's advice in his response about a 20va transformer.

Perhaps PJmax did not read I was ADDING a chime to the existing doorbell and chime. If not, I'm glad I did not immediately purchase the 20va.

How do I determine the voltage and wattage of my existing transformer? I do not see any "label." (I'm NOT an electronics guy or electrician.)
 
  #9  
Old 04-07-13, 09:32 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
PJ did read and understand and gave the correct answer. It is just that there is often more then one answer. The transformer has to be the correct type not just the correct volt amp. You have to read and understand the description to get the correct answer and you didn't understand the transformer described was incorrect. The big tip off was the secondary voltage, 24 volts but multiple primary taps was the clincher.

No label you just assume the contractor used smallest he could get away with and change it out.
 
  #10  
Old 04-07-13, 10:17 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,083
Received 372 Votes on 349 Posts
The actual size of your transformer should be on it somewhere. Usually it's on that pink/beige fiberboard where the screw terminals are. It could also be stamped into the metal case on the side you can't see.

If you can't find a 16 volt 20 va transformer locally you can try the 16 volt 15 va one. You will be able to tell if it's not big enough because you'll here one or the other of the chimes buzz or hum when the button is pushed instead of a nice clear strike.

You can also try both of the chimes on the exisitng transformer to see what happens.
 
  #11  
Old 04-07-13, 10:18 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Red face

Appreciate the elucidation: like I said I'm not an electronics or electrical guy! Thank you.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: