Pool pump circuit.

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-06-13, 04:05 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Pool pump circuit.

Hi. Straight to it. I just had my fence replaced, and the contractor broke the conduit for the pool timer which sliced through the wire shrouds and caused a bunch of fireworks! Now I'm rewiring it and bringing it up to code....(I think). The issues I'm having are as follows: my understanding is that there must be a direct power source from panel to pump with only a gfci outlet and a switch allowed between. So far so good. I have a 1.24 hp pump, 12/3 wire to the gfci, 12g extension wire from gfci to a 20amp double pole switch and on to timer. The neutral from the 12/3 connected to the LINE side of the gfci but no neutral after that. (Perhaps I could run one from the LOAD side but to what?) 12/3 black to LINE, extension cord black from LOAD to LINE at the switch. 12/3 red is pigtailed to extension cord red and connected to LINE at the switch. GFCI keeps tripping.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-06-13, 04:30 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
12/3 wire to the gfci, 12g extension wire from gfci to a 20amp double pole switch and on to timer.
The term 12-3 implies the use of cable. If the pool is outside, and it seems to be, you can not use cable because a bare ground is not allowed. What is "12g extension wire"? You refer to it later as "extension cord" and there is certainly no way you can be using extension cord and be code compliant.
 
  #3  
Old 04-06-13, 04:38 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
By 12g, I mean 12 gauge braided wire. As in extension cord wire. I had read that braided wire was necessary instead of 12-3 romex. As you said because of the bare ground.
 
  #4  
Old 04-06-13, 04:46 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Service cord is not code compliant. You must use individual conductors in conduit. Romex can not be used outside even in conduit under any circumstances. Your local code may also require RMC instead of PVC for the conduit from the house to the pool.
 
  #5  
Old 04-06-13, 04:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Oh ok. Thanks. My more confusing issue is that of the GFCI tripping. Does it need a neutral on the load side if there is a hot line going to the switch?
 
  #6  
Old 04-06-13, 05:05 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
First replace the wiring with correct wiring and we can work on your problem if it still exists. Given though how dangerous pool wiring can be if done wrong and your lack of basic knowledge I would suggest hiring an electrician experienced in pool wiring.
 
  #7  
Old 04-06-13, 05:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I got it fixed. Replaced the romex with the correct wires, wired in gfci with tails so the gfci won't effect the switch or pump. Also had to add a sub-panel and upgrade the breakers to two double polled 20 amp breakers. ( It only had a single 10 amp before. ) Thanks for the help. Scheduled inspection mid week.
 
  #8  
Old 04-06-13, 05:54 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
It only had a single 10 amp before.
Are you in the UK? We don't have 10 amp breakers in breaker panels in the U.S.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: