220 circuit breaker problem

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-22-13, 09:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 3
220 circuit breaker problem

all of my 220 appliances quit working. The normal outlets and light switches work still. I tried replacing my 100amp and that didn't take care of it. What could the problem be?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-22-13, 09:34 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,066
What 100 amp? Your first overcurrent protection device or a breaker supplying a subpanel. What voltage do you get when you measure between the hots at the main breaker? Be very careful when measuring between the hots.
 
  #3  
Old 04-22-13, 09:37 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,279
Welcome to the forums.

If your 240v appliances stopped working that would suggest that you lost one of your hot legs. There are two hot legs required for 240v appliances.

If you have lost one leg then every other breaker in your panel should be dead which means you should have lost at least some of your 120v circuits.

You're going to need a voltmeter to check for the 240 VAC in to your panel. You'll need to identify the incoming service wires to the main breaker and check there to see if you have an issue before the main breaker.
 
  #4  
Old 04-22-13, 09:45 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 3
all of my 120v circuits are fine
 
  #5  
Old 04-22-13, 09:52 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 3
it starts out at a 200 amp panel and and divides from there into two100 amps, one to a trailor and another to a building out back. inside each of them there is a 100 amp panel box
 
  #6  
Old 04-22-13, 10:27 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,279
Ok..... so at the 200 amp main panel check for 240 VAC on the 100 amp sub panel breakers.

Basically.... you need to verify 240 VAC coming in from the street. If you have that then you keep checking downstream. If you don't have 240 VAC from the street then you'll probably need to call the power company.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes