looking for guidence on Pool equip supply and gfci

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-24-13, 08:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 26
looking for guidence on Pool equip supply and gfci

I'm in the process of moving my pool equipment and trying to reconnect the power properly with GFCI protection for the pool motor as well as the 120 receptical I'm pulling from one of the 240 legs.

Prior to the move, there was a 120 gfci receptical that was pulled from one of the hot legs and the breaker in the panel was a non gfci 20 amp 240. I think the reason for the GFCI 120 receptical was for the pool light that was also tied in. The light in no longer in the equation with the pool pump as I'm powering that separately.

So my questions are this...

is the correct way to do this to get a GFCI breaker in the panel?

Is it okay for me to pull from one of the 120 legs for a GFCI 120 receptical?

How do I hook up the neutral in all this?

Also for reference, I've run 4 wires (2 hot leads, 1 ground, 1 neutral) from the panel in conduit underground to a wall mounted receptical that I intend to house the 120 gfci receptical.

thank you for you help.

-Ken
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-24-13, 09:14 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
I've run 4 wires (2 hot leads, 1 ground, 1 neutral) from the panel in conduit underground to a wall mounted receptical that I intend to house the 120 gfci receptical.
I'm guessing you're saying you've run the conduit to a weatherproof box that you intend to mount the receptacle in. How does the power get tied to the pool pump?

What material is the conduit, what size is it and how deep did you bury it? What size and color are the wires you pulled into it. I'm thinking you might need one more wire.

is the correct way to do this to get a GFCI breaker in the panel?
You may need two. What power does the pool pump require?

Is it okay for me to pull from one of the 120 legs for a GFCI 120 receptical?
I would make it a separate circuit.
 
  #3  
Old 04-24-13, 09:16 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,643
Is it okay for me to pull from one of the 120 legs for a GFCI 120 receptical?
There are no 120 volt legs. The 120 volts in your house is derived from the neutral and one leg of the 240 volts to your house. You put the 120 volt GFCI breaker on leg of the 240, run your neutral to the neutral bar, and ground to the ground bar. If that is what you meant, yes,
 
  #4  
Old 04-25-13, 07:36 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 26
correct, have a weatherproof box mounted on the side of the house wall with 3/4 pvc 18" below runningn to the panel approx 30' away. The box is one of the ones that has the threaded knockout and I intended to wire up the 120 gfci and run flex to the pump fromt the same single gang box. I don't know the demand off hand for the pump but will find out later. The installation instructions for the pump call for 14g under 100' and 12g if over 100'. I just reusing the 12g again to reuse the wire. It's stranded btw for what it's worth. The double 20 amp pull is non gfci breaker also and have a total of 4 wires color 1 white, 1 green, 2 blues (one of them light blue).

I don't absolutely need the 120 plug there but it's a for sure nice to have. I'm not sure I'd deditcat another slot in the panel for a dedicated run so if I can't piggyback of one of the 240's, than I think I'd leave it out. It's more convienence over anything. Likely hood of just being used for say a electric leaf blower for cleanup type stuff.
 
  #5  
Old 04-25-13, 07:39 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 26
Thanks Ray. Now I understand the stuff I read last night on gfci's. They continually mentioned the neutral. What's interesting is in the prior configuration, the neutral was connected in the panel in one slot down from the ground.
 
  #6  
Old 04-25-13, 09:14 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,354
The ground and the neutral should have been sparated in the pool panel. Does the pool panel have a 4 wire feeder?
 
  #7  
Old 04-25-13, 07:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 26
there might have been in the previous pool panel but this time around, I'm not going to have a pool panel. Just will run to the junction box/gfci 120. It's a variable pool pump with built in timing for the scheduling etc..
 
  #8  
Old 04-25-13, 08:34 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,643
Just will run to the junction box/gfci 120. It's a variable pool pump with built in timing for the scheduling etc..
Where are you running it from?
 
  #9  
Old 04-26-13, 07:37 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 26
I figured a picture would help here. Here's what I'm describing in regards to the 120 gfci. I'm thinking the proper way to set this up is to have a gfci breaker in the panel for the pump and than run this 120 gfci receptacle
 
Attached Images  
  #10  
Old 04-26-13, 08:14 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,643
If the receptacle is connected to a GFCI breaker it should not be a GFCI receptacle. Only one GFCI per circuit is needed.
 
  #11  
Old 04-26-13, 08:38 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 26
so if I pull from one leg of the 240 to feed the 120 receptical, will that receptical still have the gfci protection?

thanks
Ken
 
  #12  
Old 04-26-13, 09:10 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,643
If it is on a single pole GFCI breaker, yes. You can not pull it from one leg of a GFCI breaker that supplies 240 volts to another load.
 
  #13  
Old 04-29-13, 09:41 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 26
final update

Well guy's, I thought I'd share my completion details...

I ended up running a separate circuit to supply the 120 gfci in a weather tight box and then used a 20 amp gfci breaker to supply the pool pump. All worked out great and the install is super clean and safe.

Thanks for all the help and motivation to get it done.

-Ken
 
  #14  
Old 04-29-13, 10:01 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,643
Thanks for letting us know the outcome of your project.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'