Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Is there a code-compliant way to splice conductors in underground conduit?

Is there a code-compliant way to splice conductors in underground conduit?

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-29-13, 06:59 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Is there a code-compliant way to splice conductors in underground conduit?

I would like to relocate my pool pump switch to be closer to the house (it is currently about 20 feet away from the house in the middle of the backyard and is an eyesore). Ideally I'd like to place it about 8 feet away from the pump against the side of the house.

I've uncovered the conduit (3/4" PVC) and measured the distances and the problem is that the new proposed location is about 22 feet away from where I need to tie into the conduit, which means that I would need a total of about 30 feet of conductors (22 feet + 3 ft to get from trench to the side of the house + 3ft to get from buried depth to grade, and then place the switch 2ft above grade = 29ft). See attached diagram for layout.

One option would be to replace the conductors with appropriate lengths. However, this option would require basically destroying a beautiful flower bed that is in the way of the LB Conduit Body on the side of the house. If possible, I would like to avoid this option, even if it means throwing more money and time at the project.

Another option would be to splice ~10 feet to extend conductors to the appropriate length. I am aware of the heat shrink splice kits intended for direct bury, but being that PVC conduit is being used here to route the conductors, those direct bury kits are not an option. Is there a code-compliant way to splice conductors that will be housed in conduit?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.
 
Attached Images  

Last edited by pcboss; 04-29-13 at 08:07 AM. Reason: corrected terminology
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-29-13, 07:18 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,349
I think you mean conductors, not connectors. If so I can edit your post for clarity.

Based on that, the conduit would be rerouted and new conductors pulled in. There is not a code compliant way to splice conductors in a conduit.
 
  #3  
Old 04-29-13, 07:50 AM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Yes, I meant conductors.

Does code allow for below grade, accessible junction box that would be housed in an enclosure similar to an in-ground irrigation access box?
 
  #4  
Old 04-29-13, 08:06 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,349
A handhole box could be set flush with the grass or flower bed surface. It will probably cost more than rerouting the conduit.
 
  #5  
Old 04-29-13, 08:31 AM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
You could always put a box on a 4*4 treated post.
 
  #6  
Old 04-29-13, 11:40 AM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Does code allow for below grade, accessible junction box that would be housed in an enclosure similar to an in-ground irrigation access box?
I have no idea what "an in-ground irrigation access box" is, so I can't answer your question in those terms. What you can do, though, is shorten the existing conduit and shape the new conduit so that their ends wind up flush with the bottom of a 4x4 or 6x6 exterior-rated PVC box that has a gasket-sealed cover, set into your yard so that the cover is at soil level. So long as that cover remains visible and accessible, your installation should be in compliance with code requirements.
 
  #7  
Old 04-29-13, 12:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4
"an in-ground irrigation access box" is a valve box for irrigation valves (see attached image). Is something like this permitted by code to house an exterior-rated gasket-sealed enclosure?
 
Attached Images  
  #8  
Old 04-29-13, 01:34 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,349
That is similar to one of the hand hole boxes I mentioned.

The gasket does not need to seal the box, water will accumulate in the conduit.
 
  #9  
Old 04-29-13, 02:20 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
That box will work. I'm not sure why you want to plant that in your yard, and it isn't necessary. If you're worried about breaking the PVC box, just buy one that's Schedule 80.
 
  #10  
Old 04-29-13, 06:03 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,212
I'm not sure what type of box would be code compliant for use inside an irrigation box. I'd use a Quazite inground junction box.

Hubbell Power Systems - Products for Electric Utilities, Telecommunications and Construction Industries
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'