Adding light switch, moving existing fixture.

Old 04-29-13, 12:59 PM
Adding light switch, moving existing fixture.

Hello all.

I have limited knowledge.

My bathroom has two light fixtures on the sides of the mirror. The ones with the on/off switches on the bottom. What I want to do is remove them. Add one vanity light to the top of the mirror and install a light switch near the entry. And have a new outlet installed as well. (Bathroom has no outlets).

I am wondering how to go about this?

Thanks so much

R

Sponsored Links
Old 04-29-13, 01:02 PM
Group Moderator
First do you have a dedicated 20 amp circuit to the bathroom. The present circuit may be grandfathered but those changes usually require the wiring to be brought up to modern code.

Old 04-29-13, 01:10 PM
I'm not entirely sure. House was built in 1920.
If I turn bathroom power off in basement then three bedrooms power go as we'll.

Old 04-29-13, 02:38 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
You have ungrounded circuits unless you have a metal conduit. Ungrounded circuits should not be extended.

New grounded wiring should be pulled.

Old 04-29-13, 02:53 PM
Doesn't sound like you have a dedicated circuit then. What does the breaker say on it? Does it have a number "15" on it anywhere or possibly "20"? The number on the breaker indicates it's amperage. However, you can't just put a 20 amp breaker in and call it good. Your wiring has to be #12 AWG on the complete circuit to use a 20 amp breaker. Your recepticals should also be 20 amp recepticals, although, I think you are OK if you put a standard 15 amp receptical in a 20 amp cicuit because you could not plug a 20 amp device into a 15 amp receptical.

Old 04-29-13, 03:59 PM
Group Moderator
Your recepticals should also be 20 amp recepticals
Only if there is only one place to plug in or you are in Canada. A duplex receptacle counts as more then one place to plug in.

Rjmarvin, the preceding is for now off topic to your question so you can ignore for now.