Baseboard Thermostat Wattage Rating

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-02-13, 04:18 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Baseboard Thermostat Wattage Rating

I am installing electric baseboard heat in a new room addition, (one room upstairs, one down). I want a programmable thermostat in each room.

Downstairs I have baseboard units that total 3600 W, on a 20A 240v circuit. The line voltage thermostat that I want to use is rated for 3600 W, 15A, (3600W / 240v = 15A). It's my understanding that I can install this 15A thermostat into the 20A circuit since the total load on the circuit is known and limited to 3600 W (15A).

Is that correct?

Upstairs my question is similar. The baseboards total 5500 W, on a 30A 240v circuit. Since there is no programmable thermostat of that capacity, I am using a 23A relay switch with built in 24v transformer, which will be controlled by a thermostat. Same question as downstairs. The relay is rated for 23A, 5520 W, but is on the 30A circuit. Is this OK since I know that the total load on the circuit is 5500W?

Thanks in advance to anyone who can answer.
RZ
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-02-13, 05:27 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,979
Welcome to the forums!

You are correct. The thermostat/relay need to be rated for the connected load, not the rating of the circuit breaker.
 
  #3  
Old 05-02-13, 01:50 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,356
Since this a space heating circuit the relay must be rated for 23 amperes continuously, meaning more than three hours without a break, in order to meet code requirements. If the relay is rated for use in heating circuits it probably is rated for continuous service but you might want to check to be sure.
 
  #4  
Old 05-02-13, 03:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Thanks for confirming this.

RZ
 
  #5  
Old 05-02-13, 03:04 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Yes, this Aube relay, RT850T, is made specifically for controlling heating circuits. Thanks for the input.

RZ
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'