Bathroom receptacle/switch combo help

Old 05-03-13, 08:59 AM
Bathroom receptacle/switch combo help

Hey Everyone,
This is my first time posting, and I am in need of some serious help. I live in an older house (1950s or so) and need to replace a failing light switch/receptacle outlet in my bathroom. I took the faceplate off of the outlet and unscrewed all of the wires, completely forgetting to take a picture or mark down how things were wired up (a horrible mistake). I purchased a new switch and tried to install it following the instructions that were included, but it just isn't working. Here is what I have going on:

Name:  IMG_5550.jpg
Views: 2513
Size:  27.5 KBName:  IMG_5551.jpg
Views: 1820
Size:  23.6 KB
Coming into the box are two sets of wires - one set of black, white, and ground wires and another set of black and white wires. I believe these both go to the light, but I'm not sure.

If I simply plug in the set of black and white wires to the line screws on the outlet, the actual outlet becomes powered. If I try to do anything else, nothing works and the circuit breaker trips when I flip it.

I sort of remember the set of white and black wires were not attached to anything on the receptacle when I opened it up, but I could be wrong. I also remember the ground not being attached (!!!). If anyone has any recommendations or ideas I would greatly appreciate it! Thank you so much!

Sponsored Links
Old 05-03-13, 09:17 AM
Group Moderator
If you have a multimeter (not a non contact tester) determine which cable is hot by measuring between the black and white wire of each cable. The cable not hot goes to the light.

Wire as follows:
  • Leave the tab between the two brass screws unbroken.
  • Connect the black of the hot cable to one of the brass screws connected by the tab.
  • Connect the two white wires to a pigtail and the pigtail to the silver screw on the receptacle end of the device.