Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Can I have GFCI Outlets on same circut as normal outlets? 12/2

Can I have GFCI Outlets on same circut as normal outlets? 12/2

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-05-13, 11:42 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 31
Question Can I have GFCI Outlets on same circut as normal outlets? 12/2

Hi everyone, I am looking a few books and they all show samples of circuits but never tell or show if you can mix outlet types.

I have a circuit running to 2 bedrooms for my power outlets. The are on 12/2 and a total of 6 outlets. I wanted to add 2 GFCI outlets for the deck outside and wanted to know if it was ok to add those outlets to this circuit since I can still add 4 more outlets?

Can't seem to find sample diagrams.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-06-13, 12:27 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,356
...since I can still add 4 more outlets?
The National Electrical Code does not specify any minimum or maximum number of receptacles on a branch circuit and I highly doubt that any local or regional code does. That means that you could, at least in theory, install an infinite number of receptacles on a single circuit.

As I recall the code DOES specify that there be at least two receptacles outside, one in the front of the house and one in the back. These must be 20 ampere circuits and they must be GFCI protected along with having "in-use" covers (bubble covers) installed. These receptacles may be fed from any circuit that is not dedicated such as bathroom or kitchen counter receptacle circuits.

So, yes, you may install the outside receptacle on the proposed circuit.
 
  #3  
Old 05-06-13, 05:21 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,352
This would be wired the same as regular receptacles inside the house. If the one receptacle outside is downstream from the GFI it can be a regular receptacle also. It would be wired off the LOAD terminals of the GFI.

The GFI needs to be marked WR for weather resistant.

Depending on your code cycle you are on it could require AFCI protection for the bedrooom and tamper resisstant devices.
 
  #4  
Old 05-06-13, 11:08 AM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
The GFI needs to be marked WR for weather resistant.
Both of the outdoor receptacles need to be weather resistant and installed with in-use covers, regardless of whether the second one is another GFCI or a standard receptacle.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'