Two GFCIs on same line for hot tub

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-06-13, 01:10 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Two GFCIs on same line for hot tub

My hot tub is wired with the proper 240v 50amp gfci breaker located near the hot tub. But I discovered that the 240v 50 amp breaker that feeds the hot tub at the main breaker board in the basement is also gfci. Is there harm in there being two gfci's on the same line?
 
  #2  
Old 05-06-13, 01:18 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,469
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Welcome to the forums!

Is there harm in there being two gfci's on the same line?
When one GFCI device is downstream of another one, it can result in nuisance tripping. How long has the feed and protection for your hot tub been wired this way? Have you had any instances of either of the GFCIs tripping for no apparent reason?
 
  #3  
Old 05-06-13, 01:57 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,238
Received 108 Votes on 94 Posts
There only needs to be one source of GFI protection for the tub. It can be in either location. Given the cost of a 2 pole GFI this has me surprised that there are two.
 
  #4  
Old 05-07-13, 01:36 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have not experienced any nuisance trips. It's been that way since the hot tub was installed last fall. The previous installation of an older hot tub had a shut off breaker out by the hot tub, but it was not gfci-- the only gfci was the one on the main board. At that time the installer put the proper gfci breaker out by the hot tub. But I just discovered that he left the original gfci breaker in place on the main board.
 
  #5  
Old 05-08-13, 01:29 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,469
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
I have not experienced any nuisance trips. It's been that way since the hot tub was installed last fall.
Then you may be fine. You paid for something you didn't need, but you can always correct it later if you need to.

FWIW, I prefer protecting dedicated GFCI circuits in the panel, so that the whole run is protected.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: