Wiring 240V receptacle for welder

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-08-13, 03:01 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Wiring 240V receptacle for welder

I need to wire a receptacle for a welder in my detached garage. The garage has a subpanel with 3 120v breakers for lights and such. It has room for more breakers. I purchased a 60 amp two pole breaker, the outlet I needed, and some #6 Romex. What has me confused is the neutral and ground wire. The Romex has red(hot) black(hot) white(neutral) and uninsulated(ground). This is the Romex the salesman at Lowes insisted I needed. He said I hook the neutral and ground up to the bus bar. and then hook neutral and ground up to the ground in the outlet I bought. The outlets wiring diagram shows it needs two hots and a ground. I feel like the neutral shouldn't be connected directly to the ground wire or to the same ground or am I wrong?
Any help is appreciated.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-08-13, 03:06 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,044
The Romex has red(hot) black(hot) white(neutral) and uninsulated(ground). This is the Romex the salesman at Lowes insisted I needed.
And he is very uninformed. You needed 6-2 not 6-3. Take the wire back to lowes. If they refuse a refund because it is cut wire inform them it is their fault not your. Insist they replace it and give you a refund for the price difference.
 
  #3  
Old 05-08-13, 03:16 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,399
They may not take the cable back but they should refund you the difference in cost between the 6-3/g and 6-2/g. Connect the white to the NEUTRAL bus in the sub-panel, the bare equipment ground to the GROUND bus in the sub-panel and the two hots to the circuit breaker. At the receptacle connect the two hots to the X and Y terminals (color not important) and the bare equipment ground to the G terminal. The white should not be stripped but have a large wire nut screwed on the end.

That's a pretty big welder for a home shop that would require number six conductors. The NEC usually allows quite a reduction in conductor size for welders because of their limited duty cycle.
 
  #4  
Old 05-08-13, 03:29 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,044
 
  #5  
Old 05-08-13, 04:09 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Ok that makes more sense. I will stop by after work to see if they will exchange it. Would you reccomend a smaller breaker? I might eventually be buying a large bandsaw that I'll use out there that also requires 240 so I thought I'd go with 60 amp. Does a 30 amp offer better protection for my welder or the wires overheating?
 
  #6  
Old 05-08-13, 04:12 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,399
Without knowing the input specifications of your welder it is impossible to state what you need. A band saw would probably have different requirements from the welder and would require a different branch circuit.
 
  #7  
Old 05-08-13, 06:20 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,385
I might eventually be buying a large bandsaw that I'll use out there that also requires 240 so I thought I'd go with 60 amp.
Maybe what you should do, considering you may purchase a 240 volt band saw too, is install a small subpanel and take advantage of the 6-3 NM B cable to feed the subpanel with a full 60 amps at 120/240 volts. By doing this, you could take a smaller circuit, such as a 20 amp circuit, from the subpanel for the bandsaw and a 60amp circuit from the subpanel for the welder. A small subpanel can be purchased for under $30 and would give you greater versatility than just one 60 amp circuit. For what it's worth, I just purchased an 8-16 circuit panel with ground bar for my niece's garage for $29 and some change, tax included.

This is the Romex the salesman at Lowes insisted I needed.
Sadly, some of the less knowledgeable clerks at the big box stores give bad advice. This gives all big box stores a black eye.
 

Last edited by CasualJoe; 05-08-13 at 06:51 PM.
  #8  
Old 05-08-13, 08:00 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,399
He already has a sub-panel. First two sentences in the original post.
 
  #9  
Old 05-08-13, 10:04 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4
I went to lowes and told them my electrician friend told me I was sold the wrong wire and they exchanged it no problem I wired it up with a 60 amp two pole breaker to the dryer receptacle. Other than the romex being more difficult to work with than my ex-wife it was pretty easy. I still have enough in the subpanel for one more 240 so I can expand if needed but this should be perfect for now! Thanks for the advice ya'll!
 
  #10  
Old 05-08-13, 10:28 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,044
I wired it up with a 60 amp two pole breaker to the dryer receptacle.
A dryer receptacle is only rated for 30 amps and is the wrong type of receptacle for this. You need a NEMA 6-50R.

If that was to match a 6-30 plug on the welder cord I suspect you have way over amped this. A 6-30P would use 10-2 on a 30 amp breaker. Even in that case a dryer receptacle, 10-30R, would be wrong because it is for 120/240 not 240 and has no ground.
 
  #11  
Old 05-09-13, 12:34 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Sorry it is a nema 6-50R. It says rated for 50 amps, is that what I want?
 
  #12  
Old 05-09-13, 07:04 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,044
Yes, 6-50R is correct. You confused me with the ""dryer receptacle" comment. Dryer receptacle" isn't what you have. What you have is correct for the breaker and use.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes