Sub Panel Diagrams


  #1  
Old 05-16-13, 02:31 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Received 15 Votes on 13 Posts
Sub Panel Diagrams

The term sub panel does not appear in the NEC but for convenience we use it to refer to any panel other than the panel containing the first OCPD (Over Current Protection Device). Below are three of the most common for subpanels not in the same structure and one for a subpanel in the same structure. The first four diagrams are based on 2008 NEC code. The fifth diagram is based on NEC code before the 2008 cycle assuming no other metallic pathways. It is usually grandfathered unless major changes are made. What is a major change is determined by the Authority Having Jurisdiction (AHJ).

Name:  sp1.jpg
Views: 13908
Size:  71.4 KB

Name:  sp2.jpg
Views: 15873
Size:  42.3 KB

Name:  sp2b.jpg
Views: 20952
Size:  47.1 KB

Name:  sp7.jpg
Views: 7084
Size:  40.8 KB
120 volt 30 amp RV panel using 240 volt Main Lug panel.

Name:  sp3.jpg
Views: 6354
Size:  30.5 KB

TRANSFER SWITCH With subpanel connected to first OCPD and inlet.

Name:  sp6.jpg
Views: 6827
Size:  35.5 KB

Name:  sp5.jpg
Views: 12107
Size:  51.9 KB
 

Last edited by ray2047; 06-22-18 at 06:21 AM.
  #2  
Old 05-31-13, 12:45 PM
Z
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,257
Received 308 Votes on 274 Posts
Very helpful drawings Ray! They have been and will be quite useful.
 
  #3  
Old 11-26-13, 03:54 PM
G
Member
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
main panel to sub panel same structure

Hi
I was wandering why the diagram on main panel & sub panel on same structure
has no ground rod & marked no ground rod? it is the 4th diagram down....
 
  #4  
Old 11-26-13, 04:38 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Received 15 Votes on 13 Posts
Code (NEC) does not require ground rods for subpanels in the same structure.
 
  #5  
Old 11-27-13, 04:49 PM
G
Member
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
sub panels

Hi
I see what you mean! the ground is on main panel! that make sense.

Thanks again for the great info.....
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: