Strange electrical behavior

Old 05-17-13, 03:37 PM
Question Strange electrical behavior

So, this is a strange problem that I'm not exactly sure what to look for.
I've been fixing an old house up for a few months now (more like 6), and I've come across some strange behavior with the electricity now. Let me get some things out of the way first, though:

- seems that most of the wiring is newer-ish - I think most was added and updated in the 90s.
- I have done some wire running here and there (added an outlet, ran wire to the attic for lights, added gfi receptacles in bathroom, etc.)
- The breakers are 20 amps

Here's what's happening though. For some reason the electricity will start acting strange as in, lights in rooms will be dimmer, if I'm playing the stereo then the lights will fluctuate with how much power the stereo is needing for specific notes (think bass or deeper voices), and this isn't isolated to one room or one circuit. However, another room may actually be surging when it acts like this. When I use the multimeter to check the outlets they tend to read between the 80s and 90s when it behaves like this and will go down quite a lot if you turn another light on or whatever. When it's normal they are at their normal 120-ish. However, in a room that is surging, it'll read around 140-ish for that room/outlet (when it's acting berzerk). I've noticed that if I run a saw or something needing a good bit of power in that 140ish outlet, it tends to reset everything back to normal for the time being. Oh, the 140 also goes back to normal at the usual 120 when everything is normal.