240V pool pump and grounding

Old 05-19-13, 09:12 PM
240V pool pump and grounding

Hi guys,

My pool pump is 240V and it is connected to two orange wires and there is no ground wire. This circuit is controlled by a double-pole 15/15 amp breaker.
My pool light is 110V and it is connected to brown, white and green wires, which come from a different single-pole breaker.

All 5 of these wires come to the pool pump location through the same thin (I think 1/2") underground EMT conduit. This conduit is turning to dust, so I am getting ready to replace it with either PVC or rigid metal. Before I start, thought, my first concern is whether the current setup is safe, especially because it is near water. And if not, what is the simplest way to fix it.

I am not an electrician by far, so in case I used wrong language or terms, here are some more specific questions to hopefully clarify:
* Is it standard/safe to not ground the pool pump, or in general to not ground 240V equipment?
* If not, is there any way to fix it without pulling a new ground wire all the way from the circuit breaker panel?
* The pump circuit breaker looks old and I do not think it is GFCI. If there is a problem with my wiring, would replacing the standard breaker with GFCI solve it, or is grounding required independently from GFCI protection?

I live in Los Angeles county.

Thanks in advance for your help, and here are some pictures...

This is what the setup looked like before I tore things out.

This one is after I tore stuff out. The conduit on the left brings power to the site. If you zoom in you can see the wires I described above - 2 orange, one brown, one white and one green. The conduit on the left looks like copper and it goes to the pool light.

If we turn to the left, you can see the rusty conduit go underground and towards the house in the direction of the plant, past the A/C unit.