Hooking wire up to a fuse box

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-27-13, 11:34 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Question Hooking wire up to a fuse box

Have a fuse box in a workshop. I have laid 10-3 UF underground wire to run to a well that is 528 ft from the fuse box. Not sure how to connect this wire into the fuse box. What do I need? What should I do?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-27-13, 11:45 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,285
Welcome to the forums!

Is the electrical panel really have fuses, or does it have breakers? Are there any open spaces?
What is the voltage and current draw of your pump?
 
  #3  
Old 05-27-13, 12:53 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,058
#10 at 528 feet is marginally good for only 5 amps. I seriously doubt it would run a well pump. It is even less likely it would start it. What is the voltage and full load amps of the pump?
 
  #4  
Old 05-27-13, 01:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Question Connect 10-3 UF cable 50 amp circuit breaker?

I have an unused 50 amp circuit breaker on my electrical panel. Can I attach a 10-3 UF cable to it?
 
  #5  
Old 05-27-13, 01:38 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,594
#10 is limited to 30 amps for most applications. What are you trying to use it for?
 
  #6  
Old 05-27-13, 01:54 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 3
10-3 UF cable and 50 amp circuit breaker

I am installing a well. Had to go to 10-3 UF underground wiring because the distance from the well to the electrical panel is 528 ft. The panel has an unused 50 amp circuit breaker, so I was wondering if I could use it/.
 
  #7  
Old 05-27-13, 02:02 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,285
No, you can't. You need to change the breaker to a 30 amp. This is only about $20 and about 5 minutes of work.
 
  #8  
Old 05-27-13, 02:04 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,259
No, 10ga wire can be protected by a max 30A breaker. There are a few exceptions with air conditioners and things of the like, but the well pump likely doesn't fit into that situation. You'll need to swap out the breaker.

You may need a 30A or 20A breaker. What size well pump is it? Distance from the panel to the pump? And also, what kind of panel do you have? We can help you pick out the new correct breaker.
 
  #9  
Old 05-27-13, 03:36 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Distance from the panel to the pump?
528 feet. See post # 3 .
 
  #10  
Old 05-27-13, 03:48 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,058
I have merged your two threads because they are basicly the same issue.

At that distance you need probably 8-2 or 6-2 if the pump is 120 volts. Or 8-3 or 6-3 if the pump is 240 and you are planing to install a subpanel for lights and pump. You may need #6 depending on the full load amps of the pump.

As I wrote in post #3:
#10 at 528 feet is marginally good for only 5 amps. I seriously doubt it would run a well pump. It is even less likely it would start it. What is the voltage and full load amps of the pump?
 
  #11  
Old 05-27-13, 03:51 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,393
528 feet. See post # 3 .
And........how deep is the well at the point the pump will be located. This depth must be added to the 528 feet to determine voltage drop. What is horsepower of the pump? What is the voltage and FLA rating on the pump motor?
 
  #12  
Old 05-27-13, 03:57 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,058
And we know nothing about the panel in the workshop where it will be hooked up. Is it to a subpanel? What distance from the panel supplying it? What size wire to it.

About all we can say at this point is hopefully you can sell the 10-3 UF on Ebay.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes