wiring poultry exhaust fan

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-28-13, 08:35 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 10
wiring poultry exhaust fan

Hi;

I'm trying to connect a 24" dia. fiberglass poultry barn fan it has lost all its labeling and previous owners only knew it was single phase, inside the box there are 3 separate terminals one yellow, one black and one holding white, brown, & red, when I connect white to white the other 2 terminals both will engage the fan motor? Does this mean it is 2 speed fan and how do I wire this unit???

BobbyBoy
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-28-13, 08:57 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,430
Welcome to the forums.

I don't think that is a two speed fan. I think you are looking at the start winding wires.

Can you shoot us a picture or two and post them here ?
 
  #3  
Old 05-28-13, 09:05 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,631
Does the fan have a capacitor or did the person you got it from mention a capacitor?
 
  #4  
Old 05-28-13, 10:05 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 10
heres photos

there does appear to be a capacitor see pic
 
Attached Images   
  #5  
Old 05-28-13, 03:11 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 10
addendum

upon further inspection the brown wire is also on a single terminal which means when I contacted the white terminal and then touched yellow and black in turn the fan worked didn't try the brown??
 
  #6  
Old 05-28-13, 05:05 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,356
On the top terminal it appears that the wire has been cut next to the push-on terminal. If so, then remove this push-on terminal. Connect the incoming power to the two terminals that are connected to the threaded studs.
 
  #7  
Old 05-28-13, 05:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 10
terminals etc.

I have uploaded 2 more pics I can see there are no cut wires and slip on connectors there are 2 open to use both attached to blk terminal see pic.and one open on yellow wire. I suppose this means white on yellow, blk on blk and grd to green nut on casing??
 
Attached Images   
  #8  
Old 05-28-13, 06:05 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,356
Thank you for the additional pictures, it makes it much more clear that there is no cut wire.

My advice is the same, connect the incoming power to the two terminals that have the threaded studs. You may use either ring terminals on the studs or push-on terminals on the tabs as you prefer, the colors are not really important. Yes, the green goes to the green-colored hexagon screw.
 
  #9  
Old 05-28-13, 06:50 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,430
I agree with Furd.

The extra wiring is for motor reversing.
The only thing we aren't sure about is 120v or 240v supply.
I guess you'll know when you connect 120vac.
 
  #10  
Old 05-28-13, 07:10 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 10
thx guys its getting dark so i'll check it out tomorrow and let ya know
 
  #11  
Old 05-29-13, 09:49 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 10
mystery deepens

...well fellow DIY'ers upon connecting via ring connectors onto the 2 bolt connectors available black on black and white on that yellow terminals and nothing happens??
When I hold the white wire against the wht/red terminal and touch the black or brown or yellow the fan spins on touching any of the 3 contacts???
I'm going to try reversing the 2 possible connections ...cross your fingers
 

Last edited by Bob Woolsey; 05-29-13 at 09:59 AM. Reason: oooops typo #2
  #12  
Old 05-29-13, 10:39 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 10
working fan

well gents I reversed the available connections and boom it works thx for all the effort....who woulda thunk it black on yellow TERMINAL and white on blACK TERMINAL .......THX BOB
 
  #13  
Old 05-29-13, 11:07 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,631
Excellent! Thanks for letting us know the outcome.
 
  #14  
Old 06-20-13, 01:36 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 10
Selecting the voltage on a 120/240 v motor

Hello fellow do-it-yerselfers......my fan is on 1/2 speed because the voltage selection is wrong set to 220V when I need 110V I can't know how to switch-up the wires to accomplish this...obviously the blade connectors (male) indicate where other blade connectors may be moved to alter the voltage to 110V?? help color picture below in thread.......help speed up my 1/2 speed 1/3 HP fan.......................Bob
 
  #15  
Old 06-20-13, 06:54 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,430
Hi Bob.

I had moved your post to a new thread not realizing that you started this thread and it was your motor you were talking about.....so the post is back where you put it with a different title.

I'll be back to help you out.
 
  #16  
Old 06-21-13, 07:43 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 10
Thx pj

Sorry I should have made clear that it was me again same motor new problem I determined that the 220 V selection had been made prior to me getting the fan so when I spade connected its at 1/2 speed ..... the Black wire within the motor terminal block has 2 spade connections available while yellow/blk stripe has 1 so thats what we have to work with...motors I've been able to get a wiring diagram for all work the same way one terminal is common to both voltages and the other wires are the variables...so terminal 1. (even marked) is the common to both voltages ? maybe....and the remaining block with 2 male spades open is the block where the alteration must be made....? maybe line 2. would be connected to one of these and ???on the other one I'm guessing Red or white wires with female spade are the choices as in most motors the single brown wire seems to always be alone. HELP !!!!!!!
Bob
 
  #17  
Old 06-21-13, 09:54 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 10
Smile fixed her

HI

“trial & error” solved the mystery when u got no wiring dia. turns out the wht. & red terminal is the decider white to blk. and line white boom 110 volts full rpm I’m happy Guy
Noxious
 
  #18  
Old 06-21-13, 10:10 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,631
Good job. Thanks for letting us know the outcome.

Tech note: You house is 120 volts not 110 volts and the fan was previously connected for 240 or 208 not 220 volts.
 
  #19  
Old 06-21-13, 10:13 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,430
Usually what happens is that the run winding either gets put in series for 240v or parallel for 120v.

Glad you solved your problem.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'