Electric code for attic installation

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-29-13, 12:43 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Electric code for attic installation

Hi everyone,

This is my first post on DIY. I get the sense from reading some other posts that there are some seriously knowledgeable folks on the forum. I want to say thank you in advance for any help it is much appreciated.

Recently, I installed a ceiling mounted television in an unusual way - the whole mount assembly sits above the drywall and rests on 2x4s in the attic to avoid any ceiling boxes. The tube running up contains all of the cables including power and is covered by about 1ft of blown-in insulation. I intend to connect the power cable to a box mounted about a meter up, however, the box is only about 2ft from the attic scuttle.

1st question: Considering the distance from the scuttle what type of wiring is necessary? Conduit? There is a switch about 4 inches above the opening for a light using standard romex.

2nd question: I acknowledge that running any standard power cable through a wall or through insulation is against code, however, I am wondering if there is some way I can rectify that situation without adding a ceiling box. Is there some code that allows for this? Conduit?

3rd question: Should I use a lock-in plug? If so, consider that if the TV somehow falls it takes the outlet with it. Otherwise, I have a standard plug that can start a fire if it becomes loose. I am thinking standard with strain relief.

If you've made it this far thank you, I appreciate your responses.

-Phil

Edit: The installation was performed in Maryland
 

Last edited by DIY-Phil; 05-29-13 at 12:48 AM. Reason: Location
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-29-13, 04:01 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Phil, welcome to the forums! The purpose of my post will be to glean more information from you so we can make an assessment of what you can do. First. I have heard of mirrors on the ceiling in kinky hotels, so is your TV mounted similarly? I'll not ask why. Yes I will, why? You say it is mounted above the truss bottom chord. How is it framed in? If the TV is in the attic, prepare yourself for a short life on it, as it can't take the extreme heat/cold produced there. Would it be possible for you to post a few pictures of this mounting so we can see what you are seeing.http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...your-post.html If you have any inclination that the TV will fall, you don't want an electrical cord to be it's only saving grace. We'll get into the wiring after we see your set up.
 
  #3  
Old 05-29-13, 07:05 AM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: ohio usa
Posts: 134
  #4  
Old 05-29-13, 09:22 AM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Is the power cord from the TV just the standard cord with a plug on it or is it a whip?
 
  #5  
Old 05-29-13, 01:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Info

Sorry I did not include a picture, the set-up is actually at a relative's house so it is not readily available. I downloaded Google SketchUP last night so I will try to send the layout tonight.

Here is the power cable type from TV:

Amazon.com: C2G / Cables to Go 03130 18 AWG Universal Power Cord IEC320C13 to NEMA 515P, Black (6 Feet/1.82 Meters): Electronics

Here is the mount in use:

Amazon.com: VideoSecu LCD Plasma Flat Panel TV Ceiling Mount Bracket for most 37" to 65" TV LED Television Displays MPC51B M10: Electronics

I will follow up with a Paint drawing
 
  #6  
Old 05-29-13, 01:28 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Diagram

Here is the image - also I was mostly joking about the TV falling. The install was flawless and the design is such that someone large could easily hang from the mount. I think the only point of weakness is that there is an inner-tube that connects to the outer via a pin to allow for height adjustment. Who knows how much strain that pin could take.



Thanks again!
 
Attached Images   
  #7  
Old 05-29-13, 01:44 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
unusual way - the whole mount assembly sits above the drywall and rests on 2x4s in the attic to avoid any ceiling boxes
Ednu99, thanks for easing my mind, but you can easily see how my uneducated mind could wander around in the box.
 
  #8  
Old 05-29-13, 02:09 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: KS
Posts: 1,896
Unless someone purposely messes with it, the bolts holding the two tubes together have a shear rating hundreds of pounds higher than they will ever see. I don't see anything wrong with the way you did it as long as your spanner beams are fastened to the joists and the mount is fastened to the spanners.

The main reason you are not allowed to run a cord through a wall is because you must be able to disconnect a cord-and-plug appliance without having to go into another room or area. "Technically" if the TV has a standard IEC (computer-style) removable cord, one could argue that the ability to disconnect is satisfied. Since the cord would be going directly into an open attic space, there shouldn't be any issue with regard to the insulation rating not being suitable for "in-wall" installation.
 
  #9  
Old 05-29-13, 02:33 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,254
A strict reading of the NEC probably forbids running the power cord through the ceiling to a receptacle, but to be honest, I don't see any big issue with it as long as you ensure the drywall isn't abrading the insulation, etc. I would install a standard receptacle near the mounting bracket above the insulation and use a standard cord/plug. If the TV falls, you have bigger issues anyway... which is quite unlikely as long as whatever you mounted it to is sturdy. Those mounts are engineered to hang bigger and heavier TVs anyway.
 
  #10  
Old 05-31-13, 01:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Good advice

I will post some pictures of the finalized installation once I am done. Thanks for the help.

Phil
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes