2 doorbells with one switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-04-13, 06:53 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Indonesia
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
2 doorbells with one switch

Hi, I have two doorbells that I want to trigger with a switch. One of the doorbell has cordless remote and the other is wired. I need your advice whether the following diagram is ok..My only concern is the difference between 4.5v and 12V..Are they okay to mix together? Thanks!!

Name:  Doorbell.png
Views: 1717
Size:  39.4 KB
 
Attached Images  
  #2  
Old 06-04-13, 07:37 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,582
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
You would need a two pole switch so the voltages could be kept separate.
 
  #3  
Old 06-04-13, 09:57 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Indonesia
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So there is no way I could mix those 2 cables?
Is there push button switch with double pole? Thanks!
 
  #4  
Old 06-04-13, 10:38 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,582
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Is there push button switch with double pole? Thanks!
Yes, it just isn't sold specifically for doorbells and you will have to figure out a mounting for it. Probably a small plastic project box will work.
 
  #5  
Old 06-04-13, 11:03 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Indonesia
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi Just one last question.. Suppose I have 2 wires that run the same voltage, I can put them together in one pole switch?
 
  #6  
Old 06-04-13, 11:57 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,582
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Yes, but only if from the same source. Best to use a relay controlled by the doorbell button for what you are trying to do.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 06-04-13 at 12:15 PM.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: